Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Are these real or Just knock offs ?

  1. #1
    vsspack's Avatar
    vsspack is offline King of the Mang
    Ride
    VN Mang Machine

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Mildura
    Posts
    128

    Default Are these real or Just knock offs ?

    http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ALPINE-DDT-S3...ts_Accessories
    Just wondering if these are for real/Genuine most likely nicked from teh warehouse in malaysia but real or fake copies.
    seems too cheap to be true is all...
    Last edited by vsspack; 24-08-2010 at 01:23 PM. Reason: Fixed :)
    Some say less talk more action. But I rekon more torque less traction!

  2. #2
    Ride
    VE Calais-V 6.0L

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Hastings
    Posts
    3,115

  3. #3
    vsspack's Avatar
    vsspack is offline King of the Mang
    Ride
    VN Mang Machine

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Mildura
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Link fixed
    Some say less talk more action. But I rekon more torque less traction!

  4. #4
    Not_An_Abba_Fan's Avatar
    Not_An_Abba_Fan is offline Exhaust Guru
    Ride
    HSV Senator VTII

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bunbury, WA
    Posts
    9,091

    Default

    Well, they are advertised as Alpine, they are in an Alpine box and they have the Alpine logo on them. If they are not real, he is breaking the law and Ebay doesn't allow misrepresentation.
    Visit my Facebook page



    Quote Originally Posted by DannyboyDS View Post
    I burnt my hand in a nasty way once using method one but thats because i'm a twat.

  5. #5
    undersuspicion is offline Now That's How We Roll!
    Ride
    Vy SV8 Series 2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    416

    Default

    They would have to be alpine to be sold on ebay as alpine. Might be an asian export model or something though but that shouldn't change the quality.

  6. #6
    wraith's Avatar
    wraith is online now Hand over the dog bikkies
    Ride
    '95 VR Series II

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Demonicaland
    Posts
    3,065

    Default

    Alpine is probably like a lot of audio companies now days that do not like there product being sold on Ebay. Seller might not know. I am not 100% sure having never sold Alpine but I know Polk and companies like that remove your trader account with them if you are found selling on Ebay.
    Welcome to the internet where people have opinions that you might not like




  7. #7
    vsspack's Avatar
    vsspack is offline King of the Mang
    Ride
    VN Mang Machine

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Mildura
    Posts
    128

    Default

    I know alpine dont like their gear being sold online ANYWHERE really, very few stores stock it and non in australia that ive seen online anyway.
    Kinda is waht lead me to believe they are cheap knock offs.
    And the fact they say alpine/box etc you can get GHD hair straightners (box books everything ) off ebay and htey are fakes . You litterlally have to pull the straightener apart to tell so it wouldnt suprise me if anything else is copied .
    Some say less talk more action. But I rekon more torque less traction!

  8. #8
    Ride
    VX Berlina S2 Gen 3 V8

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Echuca
    Posts
    285

  9. #9
    Ride
    vt wagon

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    GoldCoast-Australia
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Not_An_Abba_Fan View Post
    Well, they are advertised as Alpine, they are in an Alpine box and they have the Alpine logo on them. If they are not real, he is breaking the law and Ebay doesn't allow misrepresentation.
    you are kidding right ?? ebay if rampant with fake copies and ebay dont give a flying duck , they get there coin for the add and the sale and the paypal fees ,so really do you think ebay give a rats about copyright , i would bet there fake

  10. #10
    Ride
    VE Calais-V 6.0L

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Hastings
    Posts
    3,115

    Default

    Quite a few car audio brands have fakes sold on eBay, like Focal, MB Quart, Hertz and even Pioneer a while ago...

    What's the RRP on these normally? I couldn't find a price they'd cost in Australia.For that price from Malaysia, they're probably real.

    Do you have woofers and crossovers to go with them though?

  11. #11
    vsspack's Avatar
    vsspack is offline King of the Mang
    Ride
    VN Mang Machine

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Mildura
    Posts
    128

    Default

    They apparently come with crossovers.
    I have the woofers i found the car car i bought Pioneer TSC1625 they are ment to be splits but i only have hte woofers. and am looking at cheaply making htem sound "OK"
    Some say less talk more action. But I rekon more torque less traction!

  12. #12
    Verynice's Avatar
    Verynice is offline Band
    Ride
    VS Caprice 5L

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    SA - The Backwards State
    Posts
    1,039

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StoneX View Post
    Quite a few car audio brands have fakes sold on eBay, like Focal, MB Quart, Hertz and even Pioneer a while ago...

    What's the RRP on these normally? I couldn't find a price they'd cost in Australia.For that price from Malaysia, they're probably real.

    Do you have woofers and crossovers to go with them though?
    yip i got a set of fake pioneers sitting here. Ordered 350w 6x9s and got 800w 6x9s.... yeah no worries hey

  13. #13
    Not_An_Abba_Fan's Avatar
    Not_An_Abba_Fan is offline Exhaust Guru
    Ride
    HSV Senator VTII

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Bunbury, WA
    Posts
    9,091

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sean0 View Post
    you are kidding right ?? ebay if rampant with fake copies and ebay dont give a flying duck , they get there coin for the add and the sale and the paypal fees ,so really do you think ebay give a rats about copyright , i would bet there fake
    A lot of stuff on Ebay are cheap knock offs, and in the case of branded items, are usually Asian made equivelant items to that sold here. They are not fake, just not intended for the Australian market. Doesn't mean the quality is any lower.

    Read this eBay.com.au - Help | Policies | Rules for everyone | eBay User Agreement | particularly point 6. It expressly states Ebay's position on fake or counterfeit products.

    Oh, and Ebay and PayPal are two different companies.
    Visit my Facebook page



    Quote Originally Posted by DannyboyDS View Post
    I burnt my hand in a nasty way once using method one but thats because i'm a twat.

  14. #14
    undersuspicion is offline Now That's How We Roll!
    Ride
    Vy SV8 Series 2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    416

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Not_An_Abba_Fan View Post
    A lot of stuff on Ebay are cheap knock offs, and in the case of branded items, are usually Asian made equivelant items to that sold here. They are not fake, just not intended for the Australian market. Doesn't mean the quality is any lower.
    Thats exactly what i was saying, they may be asian made or designated to be sold in asia but not in australia. This would affect the price but probably not the quality of the product.

  15. #15
    Ride
    VE Calais-V 6.0L

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Hastings
    Posts
    3,115

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Not_An_Abba_Fan View Post
    A lot of stuff on Ebay are cheap knock offs, and in the case of branded items, are usually Asian made equivelant items to that sold here. They are not fake, just not intended for the Australian market. Doesn't mean the quality is any lower.

    Read this eBay.com.au - Help | Policies | Rules for everyone | eBay User Agreement | particularly point 6. It expressly states Ebay's position on fake or counterfeit products.

    Oh, and Ebay and PayPal are two different companies.
    There is a lot of FAKE (unauthorised copies) of car audio on eBay. eBay doesn't know if it's fake and don't do anything when things are reported as fake.

    Here's an example from the Australian Focal distributor: WARNING Beware of fake Focal products for sale over the internet

    The same thing happens to MB Quart, Hertz and Pioneer. I'm sure others too but I haven't heard about those.

Similar Threads

  1. Holden Servicing rip-offs
    By ACEMonkey in forum VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)
    Replies: 77
    Last Post: 27-06-2008, 06:32 PM
  2. write offs, whats the go?
    By BOXTROT in forum General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-10-2007, 10:56 PM
  3. Strathfield radio rip offs???
    By Christina in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-09-2006, 12:56 AM
  4. knock knock bloody knock
    By petesvns in forum VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-03-2005, 12:39 PM
  5. REAL real estate!!!!
    By The1985divo in forum Jokes/Humour
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-09-2004, 07:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71