Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Help with wiring this CB Radio

GetToDaChopa

Blues Brother # 2
Reaction score
Members Ride
The Blues Mobile
I could not find anyone with the same cb radio as i do so i'm wondering if you guys could help me with this particular one. I found it in my closet and decided i might install it.

Pics (this thing looks pretty old):

IMG_0078.jpg

IMG_0079.jpg

IMG_0077.jpg

I have no wiring experience whatsoever and i don't know if this thing still works. So:

1. How do i test it first?
2. How do i then power it and make it turn on when i start the car? (or make it work in general, inside the car)
3. What sort of antenna do i need?

Fitting it into the car i can work out but actually running all the cable for antenna, power and speaker i am no sure about at all.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

combatantsomeone

Reaction score
Members Ride
VR Acclaim v6..?
i would imagine you would run the red wire to a power source, possibly cigarette lighter wire as this will make sure it only comes on wen the key is on. Black wire to ground
no idea bout the rest of it sorry

a1k3m1

Reaction score
Members Ride
2003 VY II S-Pack 25th Anniversary
woah man .. i think i saw one of those in an episode of gilligan's island!!!!!!!!!!!!

yeh id say the red wire goes to the battery somehow either via the cigarette lighter wires. and the black to the chassis, the little one in the middle would be a speaker plug and the big one is where your coax connects to which goes to the antenna, it probably tells you on the back anyways, is it a 12volt unit or a 24volt one?

and for antenna's pretty much just any kind of UHF one will do. (Guessing its a UHF radio).. the bigger the antenna the more distance your going to get outta it