Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Fuel gauge/temp. gauge/dashboard lights/ lighter problem Statesman Ecotec 1995

mbo

Reaction score
Members Ride
Statesman Ecotec 6cyl. 1995
Hi,
sometimes it works, sometimes it does not. The lighter never works (need it to charge my phone) I suspect the bad mass connection or plug/socket connections somewhere. What is the first point to check, and then next?
This car was left to me by my son who moved interstate. I'm electrician by trade, but not auto sparky. If any points to be chacked, can the kind person who respond tell me roughly the location?

Thanks a lot.

EDIT: also, the exorst is noisy, and front suspention make a knocking noise while turning. What are rough costs to repair this? Chees

aussie4life

Keep It Simple Stupid
Reaction score
Members Ride
2010 VE International 3.0L
Have you checked all your fuses? from what i know ciggy is on seperate harness to the other stuff so i would say that fuse would be your problem there. and when you say dashboard lights, what do you mean? engine/oil lights or is it the illumination? if its the illum, do your switches light up as well as your shifter light?

mbo

Reaction score
Members Ride
Hi,
I will check the dashboard light when is dark (my wife is driving this sometime) and she told me this, and yes, illumination lights. I did replace both temp sensors plus the thermostat and I have the temp. indication now :). It fluctuate very little below and above the middle mark.
Does anyone know where the lighter fuse is located? I did check all the fuses in the box and they are ok. I suppose the lighter supply goes also through the relay? Nothing on the fuses/relays box is marked as "lighter"
Thanks for the reply.
Cheers.

aussie4life

Keep It Simple Stupid
Reaction score
Members Ride