have been looking at a few cars lately, and am I bit concerned that a few of them are scams because ive heard the exact same thing twice "im selling for my cousin who is out of the country"
however they have seemed quite legit, being honest about things with the car issues it has, sending photos etc.
has anyone else heard of this before? thoughts?
edit: one is in canada and the other uk.
whoops thread in wrong section mod please move![]()
what sort of car are u chasing in canada or the uk? any links online?
the car is in nsw (im planning to fly up there and drive it down) the cousin (whos name its registered in is supposedly in canada)
firstly I contacted the number on the site which I think was his mother, who put me in contact with her son who now says that hes selling it for his cousin.
seems legit-ish.
1996 HOLDEN CALAIS VS II Private Cars For Sale in NSW - carsales.com.au
if in doubt, leg it!
It's the only way to cover you a$$ and to prevent having to kick yourself for years if it eventuates to be a scam!
Do the chairs look like they are not leather as stated? or is it just me. Tidy car though!
my main concern is that Ill have issues reging it here in vic if something was scammish about it.
i mean if i go up and see it its $150 on flights and trains (if i have to come home with nothing) wasted
tricky stuff! are you able to do a revs check or whatever its called to see if its under finance, a writeoff, stolen, dodgy etc? i am sure their are ways of checking but dont know exactly how to do it sorry pal
yes he sent me the engine, vin and rego numbers and it all checks out on the nsw rtas website.
goes through all this and then tells me he needs to confirm price with his cousin (after Id arleady confirmed it twice)
only thing i can think of is to get him to send you a copy of the registration paperwork to check whos name it is in as well as a copy of whoevers drivers licence it is in. Realise that all this can be forged but it may be enough to stuff him up if it is a scham. It will also give you the address of whoever owns the car. Using the name and address from the drivers licence copy, contact white pages and get the phone number for that person. Call them and see if its same people.
Will do that thanks heaps dude.
good luck mate, let us know how ya go!
$5,000 for a 254,000km VS V6 Calais is a bit over the top, you could pick up a nice VT V8 for that price.
Holden Commodore 1998 SS - eBay, Passenger Vehicles, Cars, Cars, Bikes, Boats. (end time 19-Apr-10 08:48:24 AEST)
i doubt they will give you a copy of any ones license, i would not give out a copy of my license to someone i dont know who is interested in buying a car.
Just do all your checks, you can buy a legal document off vic roads that protects you against finance companies or insurance companies taking the car off you once you have bought it.
If it comes up clean on there check and you get the legal document you should be fine.
See if NSW rta does something similar, or talk to vic roads
Vehicle Securities Register : VicRoads
edit: that will cover cars bought in NSW
Doesn't look like a scam to me.
Assuimng you've spoken to the owner by calling the number on the window.
Personally i'd get someone from NSW to go check out the car for you before you hand over any money.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
* * [] [VP CALAIS INTERNATIONAL] [EFI 304] [T56] [] * *
* * [] [VP BERLINA LX WAGON] [EFI 304] [T5] [] * *
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
STEALTHY's Shed Clean Out! Buy my ****
Originally Posted by davway
Originally Posted by JONNNNOOOOO!!