Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Tips for improving NVH (sound) in a VE

PIR4TE

Banned
Reaction score
Members Ride
Black Pearl
I've seen dozens of threads about annoying noises, rattles, drone, booming and squeaks in the VE, as well as members waxing lyrical about the loud and sexy sounds from induction, mechanical, and exhaust note. Some members have asked about sound mods so started this thread.

I'm no expert just a fussy kent who's put some time sorting out the acoustics a bit because I travel all sorts of roads from Brisbane to Adelaide, via the high country and SA/VIC/NSW outback three or four times a year.

Here's what I've done bumper to bumper on my Sportwagon:
Up front I have an OTR which is horn shaped like most, which means it amplifies and projects induction sound waves forward from under the bonnet.

Behind that is a ported throttle body that has no lip to counter the whistling of air at part throttle openings.

Throttle opens up to a Custom Manifold that has been rebuilt to force tumbling of air into the runners over radius bars. This creates a distinctive "whoo" like a woodwind instrument that becomes a roar about 4000 rpm. Baffles, posts and any superfluous crap shaved in favour of ported air flow.

Cam is stock but modified lift and duration to equal an LS2 cam.

Standing directly in front with the bonnet open the noise can be intimidating with just a few revs but bonnet closed in cabin is good. I made a stealth shroud out of MLV (see below) for special occasions.