Hi guys.
Trying to sell me XU6 and got the following enquiry and it just seems really weird...
its from carpoint..
I get the following email:
I reply:Code:Is your listed Vehicle still available for sale? i'll like to know the asking price if it is available.so that i can arrange the payment. I'll wait to read from you very soon. Thanks. Vivian.
And I get the reply:Code:Hi there. The vehicle is still for sale. Wouldnt you like to look at it first? I have it listed at 14,250 but am negotiable to a certain point. Give me a call on 0411 950 199 if you have any questions. Cheers
Hello Lachlan,
Does this seem right to you? It just doesnt sound right..Code:Thanks for your quick response, I will pay $14,300.00 for the 2001 HSV XU6 SEDAN...I am currently on the ship due to the nature of my work, i'll be paying you with my credit card via my PayPal, if my offer is accepted..Before i can make your payment through PayPal you will have to get back to me with the following information so that my pick up agent will come and pick up as soon as possible. Your Name and address: And your PayPal email ID: You can also send me a money request through PayPal as well, Make sure you get back to me so that we can arrange for pick up as i will like the item to be picked,so no shipping. Await for your swift response. Vivian.
And vivian sounds like a weird name for a woman who works on a ship and wants to buy a commodore.
Its also worded strangely too, as if done by a computer rather than an actual person, that or a foreign person.
Yeh, stay away I reckon.
FORSALE - BRICKIES TRESTLES + SOLID STEEL SPIRAL STAIRCASE. -
http://forums.justcommodores.com.au/...ressively.html
im guessing they will send me a fake paypal email telling me the funds have been accepted, or send me a fake page to put my login details through
not sure if this link will work but its the same setup, have a read mate.
Be careful bike sellers, scammers about - SupermotoAus
If she aint gonna pay you the cash in yr hand i wouldn't sell. But thats just me.
Looks fairly dodgy, i would stay away from it, although it could be real, who puts that much effort into it and names the exact car and the exact price to cents etc.. And asks for an Agent to pick it up?
Steer clear.
i have seen this sort of thing before and it is some sort of scam, stay away.
"A life lived in fear is a life half lived"
hmmm... yeah sounds 'foreign'. The english seems converted, not particularly natural sounding.
Who would offer more than the advertised price, particularly when the advertiser has advised that the price is negotiable....
at the risk of losing a legit sale, I would just pass on that one or at least advise cash sale only
Absolutely do not pass on any details what so ever. The best advice I can give is forget you have ever heard of anyone named Vivian who wants to buy your car.
There was a thread on here before about someone on a ship wanting to buy a car. ... its obviously dodgy.
Their needs to be more awareness, I'm sure so many people would fall victim to this scam..
Can anyone remember that website that was devoted to catching these crooks, it had heaps of funny pictures of the them, being convinced to hold funny signs and stuff on web cam.
It was pretty much made to embarrass these thieves..
I love this bit!
"i will like the item to be picked,so no shipping."
Under normal circumstances, who ships cars to buyers???
I'd steer clear like of that like people steer clear of someone with herpes on their upper lip.
Originally Posted by wikky
sounds super dodgy
bahah
my mate had the exact same email as this but for a datto ute on ebay..
Vjamesy i think this is the site you were referring to. Ebola Monkey Man: Nigerian 419 Scam
..and yeah that is dodgy as, ignore Vivian.
This is the one I got when I was selling my mags
Hi,
I have found your item for sale on gumtree and i
want to know if is still for sale because i want to buy it asap.
I will wait for your email with your answer.
Thank you,
Samanthta
I sent a reply saying they were still for sale then got this
Hi again,
Thank you for your email.
Please tell me if the item from the link is yours because i have contacted another buyer
and i want to be sure that the item from the link is yours because i want to buy it.
item Classifieds: Sydney - Gumtree Free Classifieds - 1
I will wait for your email with your answer that the item from the link is yours and i will buy it asap.
Thank you, and in the meantime i will wait for your email.
I didnt bother replying to this one
Thats a scam. get it all the time when I put my car up for sale
so tell me who buys a car for $50 more than your askin and will take it without seing it? then again if she wants to pay u thru pay pal then take it.. do that if it declines then keep your car? seems sus but how could they dog you if they pay first?
I'll chuck in an extra "stay clear"
As mentioned there was a similar topic like this about 2 months ago.
As for how can you get ripped off via Paypal, not 100% sure but I know theres ways.
Reply back
"you stay on boat, car stay with me here until visit you do and cash you pay"
Ive got a car for sale on there too but not even the scammers want it.Steer clear.