Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Surviving Police Encounters. What are your rights as a Citizen?

Pete_perth

Pedro
Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Adventra CX6
Bear in mind that most states (as far as I know and I am not a legal expert) requre that all citizens must follow any lawful instruction given to them by a Police officer.

Police Officers have very broad powers, so if you start declaring that answering their questions is a violation of your rights, you will find that there are other powers they can call upon. Like others have said, just answer their questions or follow their lawful instructions and you will be done and out of there in 5 minutes. Try to be smart and all they need to justify is that they had reasonable suspicion, you however will have to then spend months defending yourself if they want to make it a full on investigation - up to you.

tmerivale

Reaction score
Members Ride
vn exec
what if the police officer sees you as "the enemy" when you have done nothing wrong? i know it is only a movie and is based in america but has anyone seen the movie crash? VERY powerfull!

just a hypothetical question but what happens if a young lad hooning kills the officers 70 year old mother as he skates through an intersection, then the next time the officer is on duty he sees a young person in a non modified car take off quickly without spinning the wheels with no smoke or without going over the speed limit, he/she just gets to the speed limit quickly? he will try to get the young person for something, its human nature.