Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[VT-VX] How to install rocker arms/pushrods

bigneilsen

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT SS LS1
ok here we go, this is my first time doing this mod and writing a how to. so all comments are weclome. sorry if the pics arnt that nice, had to use my phone and it was little dark.

also, any damage you do to your car and parts is not my fault. you know the deal.

car: vt v6 series 1

i bought a MACE 1.98:1 ultra high ratio set of rockers and pushrods, this is what i got:
IMG_0330.jpg

so first you should see something like this:
IMG_0335.jpg

first you will want to remove throttle body and vaccuum hose, you dont have to completely remove throttle body just unbolt and move to the side. i also disconnected the battery, dunno if this is nessacary but i did anyway. also people say to move dipstick and alternator brace, but i managed to get away with not moving theses things.
IMG_0336.jpg

next undo the 5 bolts that hold down the rocker cover, make sure not to lose the rubber grommets, once this is done lift the rocker cover off and place to the side. i did the driver side first, but it doesnt matter(i thought this side was harder/less room so maybe best to get it out the way first) and you should see this:
IMG_0340.jpg

once the cover is off, proceed to unbolt the rocker arms, mine took a little force to get going but once they get going its alrite. once all the bolts and arms are removed (one at a time) the retainer plate i think its called will come free, take this out as you have a new one. then simply pull out the push rods and you should see something like this(note my pushrods are still in there):
IMG_0341.jpg

<Br>
IMG_0342.jpg