Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[VR-VS] Vr inlet gasket replacement

edals

Reaction score
Members Ride
-
Hi Guys.

Here is a How To on changing the Inlet Gasket on a VR Commodore.
I am no qualified mechanic, so what you do is at your own risk, I take no responsibly in anything you attempt. This is a very time consuming Job, Took me me about 6 hours, Of course having a few drinks on the side :)

Ok, So the parts you will Require.

New Inlet Gaskets, You can purchase These from holden OEM, They lasted a good 16 yrs so why not go OEM.
Gasket Silicon for the Inlet bolts.
About 3 Tins Of Carb Cleaner, YES IT WILL BE FILTHY!
Torque wrench for the inlet bolts, Even though i had to use a spanner got most as the injectors got in the way. But use it on ones you can use it with and get a idea on how tight to do them.
Razor Blade for removing old Gaskets.
Wire brush to clean Gasket Bolts.
Socket Set Both Metric and imperial.
Spanners Both Metric and imperial.
Screw drivers Both + & -
Coolant
2 x New Hose Connectors for inlet manifold. They will break for sure if they are old.
Holden Usually stock these as they fail all the time.
REPAIR MANUAL! A must Spend the $50. it will still be cheaper as most mechanics want $400 labour to do this job.

Ok Here we Go.

Disconnect Battery.

Removed Air intake Pipe.

Disconnect Vacuum Hoses & 2 Sensor Plugs from throttle Body. Removed Cruise control support Bar, Remove 2 x Nuts that hold the Throttle body. Then Simply Remove.

Remove Belt.

Disconnect Alternator Power Cables x 2. MAKE SURE THE BATTERY IS DISCONNECTED!
Removed the 2 bolts holding the alternator, Then Simply Lift it up.