Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

[VT-VX] Photo Essay - Removing Stuck Wheels and Flushing Brake Fluid

PhilMeUp

Reaction score
Members Ride
----------
Despite generally being a Holden fan, I deal with Falcons for a living. My girlfriend (Deb) and I own and drive a taxi each. The industry standard is the Falcon BA/BF/FG series, so that’s what we use (2008 BFIII wagons). Workshop support, mechanical knowledge, parts pricing, etc.

Mine:
Taxi_817_6_3_2013.jpg

Yes, those really are genuine Brembo callipers. Six piston front callipers, four piston rear callipers, DBA5000 two piece front discs, DBA4000 rear discs, Goodridge braided lines, Hawk Performance ceramic pads and Super Dot 4 brake fluid. The car stops when I tell it to.

Deb also owns a 2001 Commodore VU ute. She doesn’t use it much these days, and is limited on space at her house, so the ute stays at my place. This also means that I don’t have to tie up money in a personal car.

I’m going to recycle a bunch of old photos for this (ie from when I’ve done this job on Falcons). But the general idea is the same.

With our taxis, I flush the brake fluid on a regular basis. Brake fluid is hydroscopic, meaning that it absorbs water. This is useful for keeping water off metallic parts in the brake system (which corrode), but means that brake fluid has to be flushed once there is too much moisture in it. I use a Wurth brake fluid tester (that I paid way too much for) to check the brake fluid regularly.

Brembo_Brake_Fluid_Flush_02_30_1_2012.jpg

I’ve known for ages that the Commodore was way overdue for a brake fluid flush but just haven’t gotten around to it. Any mechanical inclinations get absorbed by the taxis. I woke up early today and figured that I’ll get it done.