Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

1996 VS Commodore V6 Misfire?

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by Changa, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    Hey guys,
    On occasion my VS seems to lose like 300-400 rev then recovers again. Its almost as if its going to stall but then recovers. Happens whenever, like can happen when im driving or just sitting idling. Sometimes happens multiple times in a trip or only once. Nothing seems to trigger it like revving or anything, seems to happen at random. Have checked the leads and ignitions coils with a multimetre. Dont know how to check the DFI module, and unsure on the Crank Angle sensor, as I have been told these might cause this problem. Is there anyway to check the DFI module? Or you just replace it? They are expensive thats all and I dont want to replace it if its unnecessary. Havent pulled the plugs out, but they were replaced wiht the leads which would be barley 3000kms ago. My transmission has pretty much had it as the Torque clutch converter no longer locks up properly but I dont think this could be related as the misfire also occurs sitting in neutral idling.

    Also another thing to add is when it does misfire and drop revs the engine light flicks on for like half a second and then its gone again. So yeah dont know if that clarifies anything or not.

    Thanks in advance guys,
    Alex Short
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2009
  2. -ToM-

    -ToM- Bow Down to the Emperor!

    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    SA
    Members Ride:
    VR Exec [EMPIR3]
    try getting some carby cleaner and going over your throttle body and IAC. I had a similar problem, which was caused by the gunk in the throttlebody
     
  3. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    Nah mate the TB is clean as. Im fairly sure it has to be an ignition problem
     
  4. Chris E

    Chris E New Member

    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    Vr Executive 3.8
    Edit: Sorry man only read half your post :s

    Your best bet would be to run the error codes or take it to a mechanic and ask their opinion. I don't think its a problem with the gearbox I've gone through four transmissions it never affects the engine.
     
  5. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    It did come up with an error code 46 but that was because I hadnt connected the battery terminal tight enough and it was losing the circuit lol, hence causing ignition problems, but this is different.
     
  6. JA2Z

    JA2Z New Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    East Gippsland, Vic
    Members Ride:
    1995 VR, 1987 VL
    Question:

    does this rev drop occur when your fan engages? if so, maybe your alternator is not too healthy and just as the fan starts your Computer might not getting enough juice and cutting out for a split second?

    Cheers,
     
  7. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    Im not sure coz the fan doesnt automatically turn on unless the engine gets to a certain temp. But Im fairly sure it cant be your suggestion, if the alternator was screwed then when the fan turned on and the computer cuts out, wouldnt like everything turn off, like the stereo and lights and such? Plus this problem occurs at anytime like just when you start it up when its cold, so the fan wouldnt be on then.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 9, 2009
  8. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    dfi modules have been on ebay brandnew for $57 bucks
     
  9. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    Holy crap really? I thought they were like $300 new from holden.
     
  10. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
  11. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    The guy who is selling that module has some really bad reputation comments I dont think I could buy of them.
     
  12. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    haha didnt even bother reading his feedback at your own risk i spose not factory GM part either
     
  13. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    have you tried cleaning all the engine earths ? especially the one under the coils and DFI. Could be worth pulling the coils and DFI off the bracket then remove the bracket and clean the whole lot.
     
  14. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    Yeah ok I might try pulling off all of it. I have no idea where anyof the earths are though so I cant do much about that.
     
  15. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    Yeah there was some pretty bad stuff said about that guy like wrong items, cheap imitations, stuff that didnt even look like the pic. I dont think I could go through that guy.
     
  16. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    2,931
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    you will find the earths as you go. there's one under the coils, one near the battery and a few on the engine .... looks like a small wire bolted to the engine. Check if they are rusty or dirty.
     
  17. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    Ok thanks for that
     
  18. paulsautoelec

    paulsautoelec New Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Location:
    darwin
    Members Ride:
    vr ute
    how is yor harmonic balancer looking i have seen this before where thehamonic balancer was running that far out it was chewin up the crank angle sensor on a car with similar symptons to yours
     
  19. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    Yeah it has a tiny bit of wobble but I think that is normal. I havent checked the crank angle sensor as I have no idea how to know if its stuffed or not. But I am fairly sure it has to be an ignition problem, hence either the DFI module, coils, leads or plugs. Went to a mechanic he said it cant be the plugs with the symptoms described and I have checked the leads and coils which just leaves the DFI module. But I have heard a stuffed crank angle sensor can do similar things.
     
  20. Changa

    Changa Alex Short

    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Hervey Bay, Queensland
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive
    Hey guys thought Id say I have fixed this problem, ended up being my own fault. I purchased a new modded memcal tune from delcowizzid and after taking mine out I started removing my stock chip to send back to him as its an exchange. But his first chip was buggered so I had to resolder in my stock chip back in, I thought it worked fine but it did drop out occasionally (half stall once it fully stalled). When I got a new chip from delcowizzid the problem vanished. Hence the way I came to the conclusion that I had either incorrectly soldered in the chip or I damaged it with the heat of the soldering iron.
     

Share This Page