Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Apprentice panel beater

VL_5SPEED

Reaction score
Members Ride
1986 Holden VL calais project
Hey guys im a chef by trade but hate it and panel beating spray painting interests me. I am 23 years old does anyone know what 1st years get per hour on the minimum award wage??

Drawnnite

Obviously Unsensible
Reaction score
Members Ride
2000 Vs Ute
most trades, 1st years get jack all. actually, most apprentices get stuff all (however not all, i should know =P)
your probably looking around the $10 an hour range.

honestly it may not seem much, but slug it out for 4 years and then youll see the light at the end of the tunnel

hi_ryder

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
vp calais ls1, vp berlina 3.8L
(tradesman painter here) if you going to get into spray painting or beating dont do it for money reasons, cause i can tell you first hand it isnt there. it isnt like it was 10 or 15 years ago. if your contracting youll be doing insurance work for companies like aami and all the other sun corp names, and getting commodore money for jobs that they want bentley quality out of.

as a painter and beater industry standards are now pushing for the clock on and off system when working on cars. when i start a job i get the job number and clock on to it. i then have to finish the job under or on the target hours listed on the job sheet. if your a contractor your on your coin to get it finished quick, but if your on wage your expected to finish under the allotted hours or on time. if you go over all the time you might not be considered a valued employee if you get my drift. same stuff applies to an apprentice, its a tough trade and if you dont pick up stuff quickly they might not keep you around.