Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Broken wheel nut

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by D_BLOCK, Feb 12, 2010.

  1. D_BLOCK

    D_BLOCK New Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Members Ride:
    BLACK VF SS UTE
    Ok so im changin break pads out today and low and behold one of the lugs wants to be a prick and snap, never mind its still got my mag wheel lock on it.

    So do I take the calliper off , smash the hub with a mallet then hit the stud from the outside in or is it a screwed length thread totally from the outside?

    cheers guys.
     
  2. 1989mitty

    1989mitty New Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VE sv6 ute
    Dont understand what your trying to do mate?
    if your trying to remove the old stud yeah take the caliper off and the old thread should just screw out and a new one go in.
     
  3. D_BLOCK

    D_BLOCK New Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Members Ride:
    BLACK VF SS UTE
    Pretty simple really,
    im trying to remove the left over stud thats snapped in the hub, is it def a screw type stud or is it pressed ?
     
  4. kblume

    kblume Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    Narellan
    Members Ride:
    VXII Berlina V6
    They are just pressed in, just smash it out.. :)
     
  5. D_BLOCK

    D_BLOCK New Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Members Ride:
    BLACK VF SS UTE
    Thanks mate, appreciated.
    Do you reckon I can rock up to supercheap etc.. for studs? or have to order one through a tire fitment place.


    Cheers.
     
  6. Benboy

    Benboy Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,295
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Hill River, SA
    Members Ride:
    2007 SVZ Wagon
    Makr absolutely sure that you get the correct type stud (high tensile). It is also a good idea to replace all of the others on the same wheel as the one that broke has probably been over-tightened and it's 'odds on' that the others have probably been subjected to the same abuse. In fact if it was me, I would replace ALL wheel studs - cheap insurance. Always tighten wheel nuts with a torque wrench. The required torque for a Commodore is 110 NM
     
  7. impulsive

    impulsive Alloytec Racing

    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane, QLD
    Members Ride:
    VZ Alloytec
    i got studs from supercheap.. was a while ago though. They have a book there or ask at the spare parts counter
     
  8. D_BLOCK

    D_BLOCK New Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Members Ride:
    BLACK VF SS UTE
    Thanks for the help guys.
    Yeah supercheap dont stock them anymore but good ol bursons does, bout $6 each so I got the last 4 they had in.
    Good point about swapping out the rest, I might order some more in and make a day of it next week. You should have seen the factory wheel brace, all the inside edges were round out, talk about paranoid eh must have been 1000lbs of torque on the stud.
    The other prick part was the snapped stud had my lock nut on it so i got another lock nut set, oh well had to be done.

    Anyone know if we have a "how to" on this ? If not i'll take some pics when I change out the next lot.
     
  9. Torquative

    Torquative Sports Economy

    Messages:
    1,583
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 3.6L SIDI 6sp
    I had to replace mine late last year, 10 bucks each from Holden so 50 bucks a wheel.

    As far as Im aware theres no how too. I had to take the hub off when I did my fronts, I dont know if you found a different way to do it?

    Also Bursons is good for stuff like that, then undo themselves by charging $50 for a auto trans service kit that Repco across the road has for $30 and Holden have for $25 :banstick:
     
  10. D_BLOCK

    D_BLOCK New Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    Toowoomba
    Members Ride:
    BLACK VF SS UTE

    yeah I had to take the hub off too, took a few swings on the hammer, some CRC and some back n fords rocking before it would budge though.

    Holden can be like Bursons,for instance I just got bosch leads for $130 and bendix pads front and rear for $64 a set. Now Holden wanted $61 a lead and $300 for the pads??

    So they are expensive on common stuff but cheap on specialty items, go figure eh.
     

Share This Page