Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Checking error codes VR/VS (Revised)

Discussion in 'Holden Commodore How-To's' started by Darren, Aug 10, 2004.

  1. Darren

    Darren Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    HSV Clubsport R8 E2 M6
    Checking your Computer for Faults (VR - VS)

    1. Locate the diagnostic connector under the the steering column on the drivers side.
    2. Grab a paper clip and bridge pins number 5 & 6 'black' and 'white with black stripes' respectively on the ALDL (Assembly Line Diagnostic Link) connected which are located on the top row counting from the left.
    3. Jump into the drivers seat and turn the key twice (so lights are up on the instrument cluster).
    4. If you bridged out the correct wires 'Check Engine Lamp' will be flashing.
    5. The flashes are divided into 2 groups with roughly a second between each. You can read the flashes as follows:

      The first series of flashes is tens, so for example lets say the first flash simply flashes once, this means the code is 10. After the pause (~1 second) a second series of flashes will appear, if this number is 2, the code it is spitting out is 12 which means everything is fine.

    6. Another example just so you're sure ;)

      The first series of flashes you count is 4 meaning 40, the second series of flashes is 3. Adding the 40 and the 3 will give you a code of 43 which means the Knock sensor circuit is experiencing problems.

    7. Each code the computer picks up is repeated three times with ~3 second pause between, so its wise to sit there to make sure there isn't any problems it has picked up.
    8. Once you are finished turn off your ignition and remove the paper clip. It is important to note not to drive the car around while have wires are bridged as this will prevent new codes from being logged.

      Any questions or queries please feel to contact me at anytime.

      Checking the computer for codes is used in conjunction with the computer Fault Codes located here
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2004
  2. Infus10n

    Infus10n New Member

    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    Holden Captiva (Work Demo)
    Yes im dumb but i cant find the diagnostic connector under the steering column. It was prob staring right at me but a photo could be nice showing the bridging.

    I took the cover off udner the steering wheel, saw fuses etc...

    *shrug*
     
  3. Jon Z

    Jon Z New Member

    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Location:
    QLD
    Members Ride:
    97 VS Series 2
    D/w bout taking the cover off under the steering wheel. It sits just under this. Its a black connecter bout 20 pins or so and it jus sits below the plastic cover under your steering wheel round about inline with the brake pedal.

    Hopefully this helps ya out

    Cheers, Jon Z
     
  4. Infus10n

    Infus10n New Member

    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    Holden Captiva (Work Demo)
    Thanx for that, did the check and gave me code "12" so all is good.
     
  5. blitzem

    blitzem Guest

    so does this apply with the aa VT?
     
  6. wbcaprice

    wbcaprice Guest

    just wondering if this also applies to me, i have a 5.0l out of a vs senator in my ute, but am wondering about the cpu in my case? any advice would be useful
     
  7. johnnyk

    johnnyk New Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    BF V6 Falcon
    Ok, I'm pretty sure I've found the connector (in line with the brake pedal on my VR).. BUT, how do I know which pins are black and white... and 5 & 6 for that matter? Some seem to have a metal connector others dont. Does anyone have a pic they could post up please?
     
  8. MarzVP

    MarzVP I now own a TARAGO!!!

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Location:
    Port Bouvard, WA
    Members Ride:
    1992 Tarago
    Is it a similar process for the VP?
     
  9. vaughano

    vaughano New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VT Executive Wagon
    I'm wondering this myself. Bugger taking it to Holden to read a code.
     
  10. jpflinders

    jpflinders Guest

    List of Codes

    Is it possible to get a list of all error codes posted for VR ?? I'm having trouble with starting takes a long time to start. I had a faulty Crank Angle sensor and replaced that, what could be wrong?

    Thanks For the Help :bang:
     
  11. gbug

    gbug Guest

    could this apply to a VN?
     
  12. Infus10n

    Infus10n New Member

    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    Holden Captiva (Work Demo)
    there is another thread in this section for VN-VP.
     
  13. scotty1000

    scotty1000 Guest

    Does anyone know which pins to short out on the ALDL on the VN 5.0 Litre V8 ? :unsure:
     
  14. ANTHONY665

    ANTHONY665 Guest

    Hay mate can ya tel me why my VR is not sending the RPM to my taco that i fitd on the dash. just dont know why and how i can fix it
     
  15. stewart

    stewart New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    hey guys, why didnt that gizmo get made with
    a lcd readout, then better than counting flashes.

    anso, why is it that pins have to be shorted out with a bit of wire, it this needs doing, why dont the plug from the unit have pins X & Y (whatever) shorted out in the plug?
     
  16. dlzn

    dlzn New Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VS Exec SII 3.8 V6
    had the battery disconected a few days ago.. so dont know if this is accurate but its showing 12- ok.

    ill try it ina few weeks times, thx.
     
  17. johnnyk

    johnnyk New Member

    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    BF V6 Falcon
  18. burnz

    burnz dah dut dut da dah

    Messages:
    1,364
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    springfield
    Members Ride:
    2010 CRUZE Diesel
    v6/v8 same pin 5/6
     
  19. Z()LTAN

    Z()LTAN Guest

    12 is all i get do u have to do anything else to check other codes becides 12?
     
  20. kopper69

    kopper69 New Member

    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Members Ride:
    VRII Acclaim
    Code 12 will always show up first. It will show itself 3 times before any other codes are found. I will put a pic of the connector on soon. Codes will be cleared when the battery is removed or the engine fuse under the bonnet is disconnected. In responce to stewarts question, yes you could theoretically make an lcd readout but the flash system costs nothing. You can also buy a cable to connect that lists the codes, but this system is free and incredibly simple.
     

Share This Page