Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Complete VN,VP,VR,VS,VQ,VG Headunit Guide [56k warning]

Discussion in 'Car Audio' started by Atreidae, May 4, 2006.

  1. vs calais 95

    vs calais 95 New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Members Ride:
    vs calais
    haha wish I saw this a few months ago! would of made life a lot easier haha!
     
  2. Hillzzy

    Hillzzy SVEiGHT

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Location:
    Radelaide
    Members Ride:
    VY SV8
    great guide.. however all i can say is to those who try but fail - NEVER take it to an auto electrician!! my m8 got charged $176 for his headunit installed.. said it took 2 hours labour lol.. there supposed to know what they are doing yet i did mine in under one hour and have little experience lol
     
  3. MOSX

    MOSX New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Members Ride:
    VP VAC
    god what a effort, thanks for the guide. :thumbsup::thumbsup:

    I couldn't get the glove box out, near broke it off in mega rage. but I managed to do it all without removing it.
     
  4. showtime

    showtime New Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Members Ride:
    vs 5.0l
    First of all great post, Just my bit to add.
    To the people with less experience with tools, and to some that will just never get it.
    DON'T use a cordless drill, over tightening and cross threading screws is my biggest hate. You will break plastic mounts and you will have a rattly squeaky dash for ever.
    For the 3 mins extra it can be well worth it. And try and get all the screws back in the same place they come from
     
  5. azzfox

    azzfox Braaap.

    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Yarra Valley, VIC
    Members Ride:
    VE SS-V
    Agreed^

    General rule of thumb that goes for alot of things. Remove it using whatever you want but unless the torque spec is '####in tight' do it up by hand :)

    Looking back at this guide Ive done it a million times now, but its still a pain in the ass just to get to the head unit :p
     
  6. VS dream

    VS dream Lets go cruising!

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Frankston, Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VS Executvie SeriesII
    hey guys, firstly thanks so much for the guide :) ive managed to take out my h/u and everything but am now very at loss what to do with with the cords and plugs etc. ive read the guide but am still confused :S so can someone please tell me simply what i have to do to join the h/u to the car?
     
  7. azzfox

    azzfox Braaap.

    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Yarra Valley, VIC
    Members Ride:
    VE SS-V
    You will need to cut/splice into the wires on the factory plug and join them to the new harness supplied with the head unit. Or you can buy an adapter that connects to the standard plug then you join the new harness to that so the factory plug remains intact. Or, you can buy two ISO adapters, one for the head unit and one for the car so its all plug and play!
     
  8. kory

    kory xXHolden4LifeXx

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Location:
    n.s.w
    Members Ride:
    vs v8 5 speed spak
    thanks mate.this beats doing it the hard way.lol great info.this looks so much quicker than pulling the hole friggin thing apart.
     
  9. mikepickles

    mikepickles New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VS Executive S2
    hey guys need some assistance.

    read the guide, installed a Kenwood MP149 into my VS. everything went smoothly...then......NOTHING...
    - HU has power going in (reset button works, i can hear cd player booting)
    - NOTHING on the face lights up/seems to be off
    - Did it the safe way and bought the 2 adapters (VS version and Kenwood 2000-2004 version)
    - Checked all fuses.
    - Re-installed the original to check required power was coming out of the car, check.

    I'm a pretty smart guy with a fair understanding of electronics and i seem to be a bit stumped as to what to do? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers.
     
  10. Atreidae

    Atreidae (Was an) Installer

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    Berwick
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina Wagon
    Detachable/hinged face.. Check the connector on it, perhaps clean with an eraser. See how you go.
     
  11. frogsta

    frogsta PUDDI

    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Perth - Armadale
    Members Ride:
    Mazda 6 MPS 2.3L Turbo AWD
    Curious as to how the bracket works? How does it hold the h/u inside of the dash? Do I screw it in something inside of there or do I just position it behind the dash so it won't slide out?
     
  12. Dropjeslover

    Dropjeslover Shit happens

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Location:
    Emerald
    Members Ride:
    VS V6 Executive
    Great guide!
    However, I didn't remove the driver lower dash section nor anything of the aircon/ventilation. Also didn't have to remove the gray covers surrounding the whole section. As soon as you can reach the 2/3 (manual/auto) lower bolts you're good to go...

    Does anyone know if there are any neat direct bolt-on frames available?
    My HU is currently hanging loose in the hole and I don't really have the tools and time at hand to create something custom, which also fills up the remaining gap.
     
  13. Tasmaniak

    Tasmaniak Not a valid input....

    Messages:
    8,090
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    S.E. Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
    Yes there used to be a black powder coated frame available for purchase. I know Autobarn Dandenong still had a couple last year. Ask them as they don't advertise them... Half of their staff wouldn't even know that they are there.
     
  14. Lauriemccormick94

    Lauriemccormick94 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Location:
    Wodonga victoria
    Members Ride:
    95 series 2 vr commodore
    hey mate just wondering just tried swapping my head units in my 94 vr exec, just curious as to which wires are the factory/ what they are ment to look like? i bought it off a friend and the old set up was just run through power supply from battery to 2 amps that speakers and head unit was run off. any info on what the factory wires are would be great spent 2 hours frustrated trying to do this :$
    cheers
     
  15. commodore pride

    commodore pride New Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Location:
    warrnambool vic
    Members Ride:
    vr executive
    awsome guid man
     
  16. Atreidae

    Atreidae (Was an) Installer

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    Berwick
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina Wagon
    Just going to point out I posted this 7 YEARS ago.. And I still get calls/Pms about it

    It's awesome to see the community being it do much from an afternoon of keyboard bashing.
     
  17. Atreidae

    Atreidae (Was an) Installer

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    Berwick
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina Wagon
    Also apologies I haven't been monitoring the tread. I mostly hang out on SW these days
     
  18. NissanSilvia

    NissanSilvia New Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Omega
    You know this is a very old thread when the subject heading includes "56k warning"!!!
     
  19. Atreidae

    Atreidae (Was an) Installer

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    Berwick
    Members Ride:
    VT Berlina Wagon
    I wrote this 10 years ago, originally for CCC and Ausrevs.. Still Pinned and relevant today, and yes I do still get the occasional phone call from someone stuck doing an install
     
  20. Tasmaniak

    Tasmaniak Not a valid input....

    Messages:
    8,090
    Likes Received:
    104
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    S.E. Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VR Stato, C180 Kompressor, Prado and Ka
    Dude. Stahp! Joo mekkin me feel old!
     

Share This Page