Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

How do I replace the boot struts

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by CrimsonThunder, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. CrimsonThunder

    CrimsonThunder New Member

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    House
    Members Ride:
    VTSS
    Hey all, my boot struts are out of gas (or something..) whenever you open the boot it tends to fall back down. I have a new set so I was just wondering how do I change em over?

    Cheers!

    PS: I did a search and found nothing. >.<
     
  2. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,246
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    Just get a screwdriver and prise the clip that holds it on and it will come off.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2009
  3. stocky

    stocky New Member

    Messages:
    5,036
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    1995 HSV Clubsport T5, 1991 VN Berlina
    get a small flat head screwdriver, and get it under the little circular metal clip thing on each end. there should be a small slot in the strut where you get it in. once the clip is off, just pull it off the ball. not too hard.
     
  4. CrimsonThunder

    CrimsonThunder New Member

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    House
    Members Ride:
    VTSS
    Sweet, sounds easy as. Something for me to do in the morning when i wake up. :)
     
  5. r_i_d_a_h

    r_i_d_a_h New Member

    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    '97 VS Commodore + '98 E36
    just to be safe. make sure you put a stick under the boot lid to hold it up while you change the struts on by one....pretty damn heavy with out those 2 struts
     
  6. CrimsonThunder

    CrimsonThunder New Member

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    House
    Members Ride:
    VTSS
    Dammit, When doing this the struts in the boot are way smaller than the ones I have now... I think the ones I have are for the bonnet not the boot. =/ Unless I can make them smaller some how?
     
  7. Stressball

    Stressball Rolling on 4 again :D

    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Location:
    SE QLD
    Members Ride:
    Mitsubishi Triton
    You aren't trying to compress them with the boot partly shut, are you? You have to have the boot lid pushed all the way ope nand then some, on my car I actually had to remove the little rubber pad that stops the arms from hitting on the frame.
     
  8. CrimsonThunder

    CrimsonThunder New Member

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    House
    Members Ride:
    VTSS
    Nah the boot is fully open, but seriously, the ones that are in my boot right now are three quaters size of my new ones.

    I tried making the new ones smaller but they're too stiff...
     
  9. 08sky_way

    08sky_way New Member

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Kingsley WA
    Members Ride:
    VR Acclaim
    When I replaced them, the only way I could get them on was to lay on my back in the boot then by pushing up the lid with my feet to open it as far as I could, and with all the pressure I could manage to compress the strut, I was only just able to get the end the strut over nipple. You need someone around in case the boot closes on you, or leave the hatch down on the back seat, IF you can fit through. I was absolutely knackered when I finished. The amount of force you need to compress a new strut is incredible.
     
  10. BlackVXGTS

    BlackVXGTS Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, SE
    Members Ride:
    VF2 GTS A6, VS Calais 383 A4, VS Clubsport 185 A4
    That's what I found as well. Taking off the bump rubbers gives you a little more room to play with but replacing the struts still takes a lot of effort.
     
  11. Chirpstr

    Chirpstr A new project attack

    Messages:
    1,392
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Members Ride:
    VR Berlina M5, VP M5
    Yep spot on. I know I had trouble doing mine until I ripped both of them out.
     
  12. VRcommondoor

    VRcommondoor New Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Members Ride:
    Stock VR 3.8V6 (Petrol/Gas)
    Just a reminder to all that when you do take these rubber stoppers out you replace them afterward. When I got my VR the struts were already broken and the rubbers missing. I didn't even know they were meant to there. When I went and bought new struts and installed them, they too were broken within a week. After comparing with another VR I realised that the boot was opening too far and breaking the socket that the little ball sits in.

    and yeah the boots are quite heavy without them... they hurt!
     
  13. VS TITANIC

    VS TITANIC New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Location:
    Wollongong
    Members Ride:
    VS Commodore
    Anyone have the model number for these things? I need to replace mine too. Crack in the back of the head once, shame on you. Twice, three times.. & then a fourth last night!!!! F@&*!!! :banstick:
     
  14. magnumv8

    magnumv8 Guest

  15. VS TITANIC

    VS TITANIC New Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Location:
    Wollongong
    Members Ride:
    VS Commodore
    Cheers mate
     
  16. RedGoesFaster97VS

    RedGoesFaster97VS New Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Perth,WA
    Members Ride:
    96 VS Executive S II
    Hey i know this is old post, but thanks for asking this, ive just bought new boot struts off ebay and my new ones are exactly the same size as old ones but I cant compress the enough to get them on.

    i thought about removing the rubbers in order to do it. im glad its possible though, i was worried i had got the wrong ones but i dont think i have.
     
  17. timd29

    timd29 New Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VS Acclaim
    Get some one to give you a hand pushing on the boot lid hard while you put the strut on. makes it easier. (And safer for you if someone is holding the heavy lid). If you have a spolier make sure you get the struts rated to carry the extra weight. Standard ones won't always hold the boot & spolier up.
     
  18. RedGoesFaster97VS

    RedGoesFaster97VS New Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Perth,WA
    Members Ride:
    96 VS Executive S II
    Thanks, i bought ones designed for spoilers as a have one :) and i just took the rubbers off and i was able to get the boot high enough and on they went!! Looking forward to food shopping now, i wont have to hold the boot up anymore :beer chug:
     

Share This Page