Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

I NEED HELP with sump plug/bolt thing

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by Denno, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    I am having a major issue with changing the oil in my damn car. I can't get the old stuff out because the plug/bolt don't turn. It's on pretty damn tight. I've tried lots of different tools, but now after trying to many things, and having them just turn on the bolt without the bolt actually moving itself, the bolt is starting to resemble a circle rather than a hexagon....

    How on earth do I get this pain in the ass off?

    Thanks
     
  2. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    serious question, Are you turning it the right direction ? anticlockwise !?
    have you tried a good single hex socket ?
     
  3. sandbar1000

    sandbar1000 New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Members Ride:
    vt s/c spak
    Vice grips may be the only way now, if the bolt is rounded, some times a sharp blow with a hammer on the bolt will loosen it....


    davo.....
     
  4. nicko

    nicko Carbon Positive - DO IT!!

    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Location:
    sa
    Members Ride:
    75 cruiser ute
    If all else fails, cold chiesel into the bolt and then buy a new bolt.

    Tip: Drive to get a new bolt before smashing your old one and then having to walk to the auto shop :D
     
  5. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    yeah was going to right way. Tried the vice grips, and also sockets, spanners, adjustable spanner, even the freakin plyers lol.

    I've got it off now, but it cost me $35 for this chunky as tool from sprint which got it off. So it's off now. Will have to go back to sprint though cuz the new bolt that the guy sold me is too small, wtf.
     
  6. GLITRES

    GLITRES New Member

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    S.A. Sheidow park
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais V8 6 litre
    that happened to my girlfriends car 2weeks ago, i ended up stripping the sump screw and had to take it around to her dads cause i couldn't get it off and i didnt have many tools to choose from.
    he ended up using multigrips and alot of muscle.

    Tip: When putting the screw back in don't screw it in real tight, do finger tight the like half a turn. it will get tighter over time with the heat and all.
     
  7. lad79

    lad79 New Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VTII Acclaim
    i had same prob this week on the new VT, used a rattle gun to get it off, which is prob what they did it up with and why it was so tight.

    bought a genuine new plug and washer from holden for $11.20 too
     
  8. davway

    davway New Member

    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    Warrnambool
    Members Ride:
    WK LS1 Statesman
    is a common problem.
    i had the same issue because some f-wit used silicon on the thread.
    the easiest way to remove the bolt is with a blow torch.
    heat it up and get the vice grips and it will back right out with ease.
     
  9. lumina01

    lumina01 New Member

    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Location:
    Melb
    Members Ride:
    MY10 SSV UTE
    ...


    damn i paid $3.90 for plug and washer from holden about 2-3 weeks ago
     
  10. Dayvo

    Dayvo Because i can

    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    South East,Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 Series 2
    Try using a pair of stilsens( spelling) They look like a pipe wrench . The more pressure you use to undo the bolt the tighter the grip .
     
  11. drift-it

    drift-it New Member

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Townsville, QLD
    Members Ride:
    '12 Px ranger 4x4
    had the same trouble with mine..although none of the above tools/equipment worked...thats where a 19mm nut and a welder came in handy. spot welded the oustside of the nut onto the sump plug and welded the middle right up...then used a single hex impact socket and a 700mm breaker bar with 1m of exhaust pipe for extra leverage...
     
  12. lad79

    lad79 New Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VTII Acclaim
    thatd be right, think the dealer up here is a bit pricey for everything
     
  13. greenacc

    greenacc Searching for the billion

    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina
    why do people do em up so tight ? its not a freakin head stud
     
  14. deanos70

    deanos70 Member

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    another way to get burred diff plugs or sump plugs off is to weld a nut onto them then undo as per usual, just remember whenever welding on a car always disconnect your battery and becareful near fuel lines or fuel tank
     
  15. lad79

    lad79 New Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VTII Acclaim
    too cheap to buy a new washer i guess
     
  16. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    well I finally got it off, it cost be $35 to by this TengTools thing which is made to get rounded off bolts out. Then the new sump plug that the guy sold me was too small, so I had to go back and get another one of them, he found a bigger one, but as I was walking out to my car (well dad's car) I was looking at the one I pulled from my car and the one he had given me, and the one he had given me was too big, by like 1mm. So I went back in there and he told me that there is a third size, which he didn't notice before, but after looking for it for a few mins, he told me that he didn't have any, and that it's a pretty rare plug because he had never sold one, ever.
    I ended up having to ring autobarn, he said he had one but when getting there it was the same as the other one from Sprint which was a fraction too big. On the way home I just stopped into Repco to try my luck and they had one the exact right size! ($13 though, ouch!).

    So a easy job of an oil and oil filter change turned out to be a real head case lol. But it's done now :).
     
  17. lad79

    lad79 New Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VTII Acclaim
    and you know itll be easier next time too ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2009
  18. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    Indeed it will be. I'm actually looking forward to turning that brand new bolt the next time haha :p
     
  19. lad79

    lad79 New Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VTII Acclaim
    lol As long as you DIDN'T do it up with a rattle gun, or use locktite! hahaha

    I'm about to tackle mine tomorrow, getting adventurise. Doing, serpentine belt, thermostat, new coolant, radiator hoses, plugs, leads and today i ripped out all the dash surround(the coin holder/console surround/stereo surround and cluster surround). Is looking awesome so far.....after I realised the indicators dont work when you have the Hazard switch disconnected. Which is hard when u dont use the indicators for 260klms, then when you get somewhere realise they dont work and the switch is sitting at home) wish me luck putting it all back together(did 4 coats of plastic primer and 6 coats of enamel paint so should be quite scratch resistent).

    Lovin this car, shoulve bought one sooner.
     
  20. Denno

    Denno New Member

    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    South Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VX Commodore Lumina
    I was very careful :p, I did it up to finger tight, then grabbed the spanner and turned it another half turn. Nothing has leaked out the plug yet, so I'm guessing it's all good :).

    And yes, good luck with ya workings.
     

Share This Page