Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

launch control

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by richardpalinkas, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. richardpalinkas

    richardpalinkas Blown Alloytec

    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    Raptor Impulse VZ SV6
    hey, is there a way to get "launch control" with the 5sp? like with the bmw m3's. u enable launch control, hold the gear up leaver, rev to whatever you want, then release the lever? i guess its almost like a computer clutch.

    was just thinking, so any ideas?

    cheers
     
  2. jakstas

    jakstas Auto Elec

    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    Townsville
    Members Ride:
    VT SS S2 M6
    Ya, its called your feet.
     
  3. richardpalinkas

    richardpalinkas Blown Alloytec

    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    Raptor Impulse VZ SV6
    should have expected that. but in an auo? and im pretty sure that if you do it in the sv6 they have a torque limiter? thats with your feet im taking about
     
  4. Benboy

    Benboy Active Member

    Messages:
    2,224
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Location:
    Hill River, SA
    Members Ride:
    2007 SVZ Wagon
    How much money do you have budgeted for this exercise ? Perhaps you were the sole winner of $20,000,000.00 on Wednesday night !!
     
  5. richardpalinkas

    richardpalinkas Blown Alloytec

    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    Raptor Impulse VZ SV6
    lol i wish, but only old people buy the lotto! Na i was just curious, because i was reading something on the m3s and its got this feature, and was curious as to how they could do it? maybe when tuning for the gearbox becomes available?
     
  6. Bravotwozero

    Bravotwozero New Member

    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    MY12 AMG C63 W204 Speedshift + 2013 KW T909
    BMW has a real clutch. It isn't an auto with flappy paddles like your Commodore. There is no launch control.
     
  7. vzss123

    vzss123 New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Location:
    townsville
    Members Ride:
    vzss 5.7, senator 5.0
    what is a standard time a vzss dose down the track ?
     
  8. richardpalinkas

    richardpalinkas Blown Alloytec

    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    Raptor Impulse VZ SV6
    i swear the one i saw was flappy paddle. il find it
     
  9. richardpalinkas

    richardpalinkas Blown Alloytec

    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    Raptor Impulse VZ SV6
  10. f1tzy

    f1tzy New Member

    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Brissy
    Members Ride:
    FG XR6T Ute manual
    It does have flappy paddles but its not a conventional auto
     
  11. richardpalinkas

    richardpalinkas Blown Alloytec

    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    Raptor Impulse VZ SV6
    ok, so there would be no way ever to being able to install a device like this in a commy? obviously within budget reasoning?
     
  12. vpcalais6

    vpcalais6 F#%ING [P] PLATER

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    central coast
    Members Ride:
    V6 manual vp Calais
    A trans brake would do the same job but it would not limit revs or reduce wheel spin
     

Share This Page