Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Reversing Camera - what camera to get and where to connect my reverse wire?

Discussion in 'VY Holden Commodore (2002 - 2004)' started by ozzie_online88, Jul 1, 2008.

  1. ozzie_online88

    ozzie_online88 I'm No Superman...

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Members Ride:
    2003 VY S1 Exec
    Afternoon everyone ;)

    I want to hook up a reverse cam in my VY Exec, but I don't want it to stand out like a huge eye sore..and not too fond of drilling a 4cm hole in my boot/bumper for a flush mount one.

    Any one got pics of their setup?

    Was going to get one of ebay, as it is half the price than wholesale here. Mounting it at the top in between the 2 number plate nights. REVERSE MINI REARVIEW REVERSING CAMERA WITH 5m CABLE - eBay Other Car Audio, Video, Audio, Video, Car Parts, Accessories, Cars, Bikes, Boats. (end time 04-Jul-08 20:40:17 AEST)
    seemed good to me?


    Also I have a 2008 touch screen stereo which has a reverse camera wire to connect so it comes up automatically, is there a proper place to connect this? Or am i stuck having to connect it to 12v with a switch to use the cam?
     
  2. Shounak

    Shounak The Kicking Horse

    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2 + XF Panel Van Project
    Follow the wires leaving your reverse light globe, it's probably a red wire. Strip a little section of that and solder the camera wire to that little bit of stripped wire.

    This will activate it whenever voltage flows to the reverse light (ie, when you're in reverse).
     
  3. ozzie_online88

    ozzie_online88 I'm No Superman...

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Members Ride:
    2003 VY S1 Exec
    Genius! Don't know why I didn't think of that :)

    Short of pulling apart my car, or running another a cable down from the head unit to boot, does anyone know where I can find this wire in the front of the car?

    If i had a better idea, I might be able to go over a few wires with my multimeter.
     
  4. BANKS

    BANKS DW I'm a Spray Painter!

    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Members Ride:
    VZ SSZ Ute
    thats a pretty good price for that camera! let me know how it goes, i need to get one, cant see anything out the back of the utes
     
  5. Shounak

    Shounak The Kicking Horse

    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Location:
    Vic
    Members Ride:
    VX Executive S2 + XF Panel Van Project
    You follow the wire from the reverse globe. Your best option is to thread it up through the roof lining and to the front of the car.

    If you're really experienced in auto electrics, you could look at the wiring diagram and find an appropriate place. But that will require pulling your car apart and a crap load of time.

    The other option is to just let an auto leccy do it. They're very experienced in hiding all sorts of wires and will do it perfectly with no mess. But dropping the roof lining is not at all difficult and by far the easiest option.

    You're going to need to connect the video output of the camera to the input of the screen, so you're going to be doing that wiring from the boot to HU anyway. So there's no point in wiring it differently to get your voltage from another source.
     
  6. BANKS

    BANKS DW I'm a Spray Painter!

    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Members Ride:
    VZ SSZ Ute
    why does it only have one cable coming out the back?

    Where do you plug the RCA cable?
     
  7. ozzie_online88

    ozzie_online88 I'm No Superman...

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Members Ride:
    2003 VY S1 Exec
    If you have another look, it seems that that 1 cable goes into; one rca plug for video and one dc plug jack for power.
     
  8. adamc11

    adamc11 Donating Member

    Messages:
    1,266
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne Inner East
    Members Ride:
    2013 VE SS V Z M6
    Where are you going to mount the camera?
     
  9. ozzie_online88

    ozzie_online88 I'm No Superman...

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Members Ride:
    2003 VY S1 Exec
    I was thinking above the rear license plate, between the 2 illumination lights in the middle.
     
  10. stoged

    stoged New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    Cattai
    Members Ride:
    VY Executive
    Check that at night... you may get nothing but glear at night when the lights switch on.
     
  11. ozzie_online88

    ozzie_online88 I'm No Superman...

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Members Ride:
    2003 VY S1 Exec
    touche. Um are there any other places that come to mind?
     
  12. BANKS

    BANKS DW I'm a Spray Painter!

    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Members Ride:
    VZ SSZ Ute
  13. ozzie_online88

    ozzie_online88 I'm No Superman...

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Members Ride:
    2003 VY S1 Exec
    Cheers Banks, but it seems the same to me, except for a few small leds on each side of the cmos lens, to make it 'night vision'.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but since my reverse lights would be on, is there a need for little ones on the cam?
     
  14. BANKS

    BANKS DW I'm a Spray Painter!

    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Members Ride:
    VZ SSZ Ute
    They are IR (infared) LEDS, different type. Similar to night vision on a normal hand held camera i guess. I couldnt tell you if they would be the same strength. When i do mine im going down this path. The number plate lights, combined with the reverse lights, wouldnt be powerful enough to light a viewable area at night. Thats where the IR-LEDS would come in handy :)
     
  15. ozzie_online88

    ozzie_online88 I'm No Superman...

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Members Ride:
    2003 VY S1 Exec
    Ok so pretty sure I have decided on the 2nd one you showed me there, like my original choice but with night vision. Hopefully it can be mounted well.
     
  16. BANKS

    BANKS DW I'm a Spray Painter!

    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Members Ride:
    VZ SSZ Ute
    just email the seller to make sure those LED are IR ones, it doesnt say in the add
     

Share This Page