Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

SP tools. any good?

=Calais v8=

Holden Tech Apprentice
Reaction score
Members Ride
VSII 5.0L Calais, 13b ae71
hey guys, im a 1st year apprentice at holden and im looking around for a tool kit. i've been considering a repco package which is worth $1,499 and basically has every i would need.

but i have come across a brand called SP which looks pretty good from what i can see, and seems to be in the same sort of price range which makes me think its not "cheap 'n nasty". apparently stone brothers racing uses them or something along those lines too.

i'm asking because i dont want to fork out $1,600 only to find that they are **** and cheap, or break easily.

does anybody on here use them? sell them? havbe any advice?

i also want to know if they have a lifetime warranty with them like most other brands. take repco for example, you break a tool, you take it back to the shop and they swap it over for a new one. it's as easy as that.

thanks for any advice.

sp50103.jpg

Hillerus

Reaction score
Website
forums.justcommodores.com.au
Members Ride
VP Exec,Gsx-R 750
I had some apprentices buy SP tools at my last job, and I don't believe they had a problem. Provided it comes with a lifetime warranty, It doesnt matter what brand you get.

I have an SP Air 1/2 Rattle Gun that I bought for $180 about three years ago, and I have never had a problem with it. And it was only slightly less powerful then a much more expensive Snap On one.

One bit of advice I can give; when you buy your tool boxes, always buy with room for expansion in mind. In other words, buy bigger boxes then what you think you will need, as you will always find stuff to put in them down the track.

That box does look impressive, but where will you put extra spanner sets and stuff like that?

Wagon_Wheel