Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

T56 Conversion on a VN 5-Speed

Discussion in 'VN - VP Holden Commodore (1988 - 1993)' started by crazybiker, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. crazybiker

    crazybiker Member

    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Commodore V6
    I was just speaking to STEALTHY, and he's gotten me VERY interested.

    He was saying that a T56 conversion would be very nice in the VN, but he wasn't sure on whether it'd fit in the transmission tunnel.

    I wanted to know

    1) Would it?
    2) What would be involved in changing it from a T5 to a T56?
     
  2. Morton

    Morton For external use only

    Messages:
    4,097
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    Fairstar the Funship
    I'm sure you could 'massage' the trans tunnel out of the way with a small mallet.
     
  3. crazybiker

    crazybiker Member

    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Commodore V6
    Or a big sledge-hammer :p
     
  4. ToxicVn

    ToxicVn Toxic_Vn_Wagon

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VN S1 Station Wagon
    Would the bellhousing fit? Or Could you find one that would fit? Be a nice mod.
     
  5. crazybiker

    crazybiker Member

    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Commodore V6
    I'm not sure. That's why I'm asking?

    STEALTHY was just telling me...and he's trying to get me to spend more and more money.

    :p
     
  6. STEALTHY™

    STEALTHY™ So Wet For You!

    Messages:
    6,630
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    SA - The Roadworks State
    Members Ride:
    VP Calais International, FPV, Audi
    What i'm not sure is if the trans tunnel is a different size between auto and manual.

    VL had a larger trans tunnel for Auto cars (bigger box) than the manual.

    If this continued onto VN, there might be problems fitting it. My car is an Auto (would be the bigger trans tunnel), and only 'just' fit the T56 in!
     
  7. 383 hatch

    383 hatch New Member

    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Cowes, Phillip Island
    Members Ride:
    VG Ute 5.0,Torana hatch 383,WB Ute 5.0,VR stato5.0
    VN to VS have the same trans tunnel auto to manual.
     
  8. STEALTHY™

    STEALTHY™ So Wet For You!

    Messages:
    6,630
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    SA - The Roadworks State
    Members Ride:
    VP Calais International, FPV, Audi
    Ohk awesome news!

    You have to buy a T56 now man!
     
  9. crazybiker

    crazybiker Member

    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Commodore V6
    Yeah. Easier said than done.

    Like to fund it for me?

    I'll be sure to give you a drive of it...someday :p
     
  10. Pub247

    Pub247 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,371
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne S.E.
    Members Ride:
    Ford Fairmont
    One of the guys from work had a t56 in his vn calais stroker. I think your main problem is finding a kit to suit a v6 i've never heard of one behind a v6
     
  11. STEALTHY™

    STEALTHY™ So Wet For You!

    Messages:
    6,630
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    SA - The Roadworks State
    Members Ride:
    VP Calais International, FPV, Audi
    Theres plenty behind V6s.

    I know of 2 NA ones, and one behind a super 6
     
  12. JD

    JD Donating Member

    Messages:
    1,716
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Location:
    Deep South, SA
    Members Ride:
    1.6L Turbo Holden Croooooooooooze
    remember its a S1 v6 so its a different story to SII VN onwards
     
  13. crazybiker

    crazybiker Member

    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Commodore V6
    Yeah.

    I know STEALTHY knows that, not sure about the others.

    I doubt I'll be doing it, especially any-time soon.
     
  14. sik vt

    sik vt New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Location:
    australia
    Members Ride:
    vt commodore
    whats the point any way
     
  15. azkwazere

    azkwazere Ahhh Yes, Ahhh Yes....

    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Location:
    .....SE Burbs
    Members Ride:
    VP 5-SPD / 24-SPD Racer Hybrid
    Why? the transmission doesnt change, just the flywheel... same T5 right the way through the models.
     
  16. azkwazere

    azkwazere Ahhh Yes, Ahhh Yes....

    Messages:
    1,813
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Location:
    .....SE Burbs
    Members Ride:
    VP 5-SPD / 24-SPD Racer Hybrid
    I have to agree.. its a v6.. not exactly ooozing t5 breaking power....
     
  17. crazybiker

    crazybiker Member

    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR Commodore V6
    1. This thread is really old.

    2. The idea is not because of fear of breaking the box, but the closer spread of gears with a 6 speed would be beneficial.
     

Share This Page