Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Tech2 OBD II Software

Discussion in 'VY Holden Commodore (2002 - 2004)' started by adamdunford86, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. adamdunford86

    adamdunford86 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY Commodore 3.8 (Dual Fuel)
    Hi Guys

    I want to active the police mode on my 2002 VY commodore. Plus look up any error codes and have a general nose round the setup of the ECU

    I have the Tech2 OBD II cable for my computer, i have located the ECU socket under the steering wheel

    But not sure what software to download and use to do this? I have had a look at EFILive v4 but couldnt get it going.

    Any ideas would be great as i dont really want to go down and hassle the dealer.

    Thanks

    Adam
     
  2. Fletch_QLD

    Fletch_QLD New Member

    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane Bayside
    Members Ride:
    Sold my L67 VY S2 Calais :(
    V6 needs OBD I (ALDL) not OBD II I thought ?
     
  3. brodster

    brodster New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Frankston
    Members Ride:
    vn hsv wagon
    Mate waste of time playing with comp as it dont make it go any faster unless you work engine,do an engine conversion to a supercharged v6
     
  4. Fletch_QLD

    Fletch_QLD New Member

    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane Bayside
    Members Ride:
    Sold my L67 VY S2 Calais :(
    It's not about making it go harder, or sounding beast, it's about poking around.
     
  5. PRAVX II S

    PRAVX II S Member

    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Commodore
    Yes you are right mate.
    From vz onwards its protocol is OBD II.

    To the op you need to make the OBD cable it uses OBD II connector but talks OBD I.
     
  6. adamdunford86

    adamdunford86 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Members Ride:
    2002 VY Commodore 3.8 (Dual Fuel)
    Hi guys

    Thanks for the reply, im not interested in making the car faster, but enabling the police mode to get a permanent digital speedo, and also looking at any error codes the car has or may get in the future, will also be interesting to have a look at the other settings in there.

    So my Tech2 OBDII cable is no good for the VY 02?

    Thanks

    Adam
     
  7. Fletch_QLD

    Fletch_QLD New Member

    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane Bayside
    Members Ride:
    Sold my L67 VY S2 Calais :(
    That is correct - (no good for VY V6). Also, I don't think police mode is DIY possible, consumer OBD tools can only read info.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011
  8. one_and_only2004

    one_and_only2004 Turbo L98 FTW

    Messages:
    2,427
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Regional NSW Australia
    Members Ride:
    Z Series Thunder Utility - Turbo
    Yep, you either need to see Holden and get them to enable police mode, or phreddy from ASR can do it too. My Holden dealer did it for free.
     
  9. chargedvx6

    chargedvx6 New Member

    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Members Ride:
    VY SII HBD Calais L67
    The OBDII plug is the same as an OBDI plug (what your car needs), it's just the language/ speed the tech talks to your car in is different.

    Go with the cable and find the correct software to talk 8192BAUD. Send me a pm and I'll link you up
     
  10. one_and_only2004

    one_and_only2004 Turbo L98 FTW

    Messages:
    2,427
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Regional NSW Australia
    Members Ride:
    Z Series Thunder Utility - Turbo
    OBD 1 and 2 cables have different circuitry - it's not just a matter of changing software.
     
  11. Fletch_QLD

    Fletch_QLD New Member

    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Brisbane Bayside
    Members Ride:
    Sold my L67 VY S2 Calais :(
    So OBD II plug can be used if you have the correct software? What about OBD II bluetooth devices?
     
  12. WELSHH

    WELSHH New Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    2008 VE 6lt SS Ute
    so other then give u a digital speedo, what does police mode actually do?
     
  13. DLFHUB666

    DLFHUB666 GIT 'EERRR DONE!!!

    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Nhulunbuy NT
    Members Ride:
    VX SS, PX Ford Ranger XLS Dual cab
    Xtra 50 rwkw bro :driving: But seriously nothing.
     
  14. PRAVX II S

    PRAVX II S Member

    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    Members Ride:
    Commodore
    Here is some info mate on the GM 8192 check the link out.
    Can be made up your self just need some electronic and soldering know how.

    GM 8192/160 Baud ALDL Interface
     
  15. WELSHH

    WELSHH New Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    2008 VE 6lt SS Ute
    does it really or u just having me on?:surprise:
     
  16. DLFHUB666

    DLFHUB666 GIT 'EERRR DONE!!!

    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Nhulunbuy NT
    Members Ride:
    VX SS, PX Ford Ranger XLS Dual cab
    Only if you have sirens an lights hooked up aswell.:cops:
     
  17. kcpwns

    kcpwns Kicker - Livin' Loud :)

    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Location:
    Shepparton
    Members Ride:
    VY V6 Equipe
    [​IMG]
     
  18. WELSHH

    WELSHH New Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    2008 VE 6lt SS Ute
    well that stupid! who ever decided to call it police mode is even dumber then me, it should be called "you got conned into feeling like a cop with your digital speedo mode"
     
  19. one_and_only2004

    one_and_only2004 Turbo L98 FTW

    Messages:
    2,427
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    Regional NSW Australia
    Members Ride:
    Z Series Thunder Utility - Turbo
    It also disables the stereo volume and radio stations coming up on the speedo screen.
    And the digital speedo comes up by default on the screen regardless of what it was on before you turned the car off.
     
  20. Antsmash

    Antsmash New Member

    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    VY SS Black
    It also enables you to "Trap Speed", and recall that trapped speed at a later time.

    You need a Tech2 programming computer. I'm pretty sure a cable and software will only let you read the data. I may be wrong.
     

Share This Page