Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

The (I have too much free time!) Research and Development Thread!!

Discussion in 'Envyous Customs' started by TazzI, Sep 22, 2015.

  1. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    W.A
    Members Ride:
    VY Acclaim
    Probably a coders worst nightmare!

    Iv been very vigilant with coding the new cable, so at least that will be consistent. Its more the physical case that may change through new revisions.
     
    rucxy likes this.
  2. rucxy

    rucxy Donating Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Location:
    Halcombe, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    06 VE SSV L98
    I still want one of these....:D
     
  3. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    W.A
    Members Ride:
    VY Acclaim
    Iv got tech support checking my 3D design currently. They will let me know if theres any issues. If not, I will have samples sent through soon :)

    Stickers for the back case are also being made up. They are a bit of a pain though.. since the MINIMUM quantity I can buy is 1000. So if theres a mistake or doesnt lineup right... 1000 stickers go into the bin *sigh*.

    There also not the shitty sticker kind which are flimsy and weak. They are card like with strength which prevents them from peeling ect. (Used on my ELMs and ALDLs).

    Everything has been requested as express, so hopefully have some nice smooth cases in a couple weeks.

    Testers with 3D printed cases are happy with them, but personally I want a 100% fully finished product.

    Even contacted a box maker that can design a proper box around the cable. Am waiting to hear back on a quote to see if its worth it or not.
     
    rucxy and Dirbatua like this.
  4. rucxy

    rucxy Donating Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Location:
    Halcombe, New Zealand
    Members Ride:
    06 VE SSV L98
    Sounds like they are starting to come together.
    Let me know when you would like my money for one of these, don't mind being a beta tester either.
    Be good to have one over here in NZ .
     
  5. Dirbatua

    Dirbatua Active Member

    Messages:
    3,802
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    S/e Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX SS Manual, VT Berlina
    Hey Tazzi, got a query for ya, does the OBDII data on the VT-VZ with the T56 output what gear the car is in?, i'm not sure if the is any sensors/config that registers that somehow, hoping you might know.
     
  6. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    W.A
    Members Ride:
    VY Acclaim
    Oh... good question... Im not sure Iv checked in car if a Manual LS1 ECU registers any transmission related data. It might support the "gear selected" parameter.. but might never change/update. Not too sure on those unfortunately!
     
  7. Trayner

    Trayner Fresh prince of Pakky

    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Pakenham , VIC
    Members Ride:
    Vz ss 6.0L Thunder , Vz S One Tonner
    nope
     
  8. Dirbatua

    Dirbatua Active Member

    Messages:
    3,802
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    S/e Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX SS Manual, VT Berlina
    Ah k, was just curious because i was reading about the ls1 camaros and corvettes and the ECU works out what gear your in based on Speed + RPM with a T56 and there is a few guys who have made custom displays and gear indicators with what gear they are in etc through the OBDII.

    I know the ECUs we got are fundamentally the same so didn't know if that was something you might have seen.
     
  9. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    W.A
    Members Ride:
    VY Acclaim
    It could be, SOE checks which parameters are supported by the ECU. One of them in the auto LS1's does allow displaying current gear.. not sure what it does for a manual ECU.
     
  10. TazzI

    TazzI Envyous Customs

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Location:
    W.A
    Members Ride:
    VY Acclaim
    I fell like this question is going to be the death of me:
    "So.. hows the new cable coming along?"

    *Sigh* I have literally run out of hours in the day. Its 11:55pm and still not finished with the days work!

    So what progress have I made on the software over the last 2 days?? Literally zero.. zilch.. nada.. nothing.

    To say its frustrating is an under statement... literally an 18hour day today (6am to middnight) and still didn't get the time to work on the new software.

    Think I need to dedicate a day to turning off my phone o_O
     
    Trayner likes this.
  11. Dirbatua

    Dirbatua Active Member

    Messages:
    3,802
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    S/e Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX SS Manual, VT Berlina
    You just hold the power button, you don't need to spent all day trying to turn it off :p i think you need more sleep too haha
     
    Gaiter likes this.
  12. Trayner

    Trayner Fresh prince of Pakky

    Messages:
    1,378
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Pakenham , VIC
    Members Ride:
    Vz ss 6.0L Thunder , Vz S One Tonner

Share This Page