Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Upgrading VE Stock Speakers - How To

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by boneart, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. agsryd

    agsryd New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Location:
    Ringwood
    Members Ride:
    VE Series II SV6 Sportswagon
    has anyone made a subwoofer box to suit the sportswagon? im looking of making one on the drivers side rear near the wheel arch... i see there are fibreglass ones for 299 on ebay
    cheers
     
  2. mkeech

    mkeech New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Location:
    West Australia
    Members Ride:
    2011 VE my12 sportwagon
    What a thread !! hope a few guru's a still around keeping an eye on it , ok my question is - i have a 2011 ve my12 Sportwagon , my plan is to replace the front and rear door speakers with Mb quart (the old good ones) add a Alpine PDX-V9 to run these and an Alpine 12 sub in the back (boxed) so i can remove it when space is an issue .... Dynamat front and rear doors and keep original head ... Sorry , here is the actual question - Is it really worth running front and rear upgrades ? big difference ? in all my other wagons i have only fitted front MB speakers and the sub in the back I just happen to have two good sets .
     
  3. exciteautomotice

    exciteautomotice New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Location:
    thomastown
    Members Ride:
    sam
    I'm adding a amp for my subs in my holden ve i was just stuck on which wires i would need to spice into
     
  4. AZ_SSV

    AZ_SSV New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    07 VE SSV
    Just did the Sub woofer hack ( swapped polarity) and adjusted the amp. Have to say WOW, what a difference!!!!
    Took longer for the soldering iron to warm up then it did to do the job!! Also just pulled back the carpet covering the amp and put my hand under the amp to adjust. did not need to remove anything!
    if your thinking about doing this....DO IT!
     
  5. AZ_SSV

    AZ_SSV New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    07 VE SSV

    Might as well add an amp while your at it mate, considering your already doing all the hard work.
     
  6. Noni_sk8er

    Noni_sk8er New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    noble park
    Members Ride:
    ve omega s1
    Hi all ,, I'm planning to install a after market double din in a omega Ve 2008 .. I have the pannel ,, but not sure about the wiring for the aircon ,, bought the pannel used one ,, and also wire for the steering wheel controls ,, I can post few pics as well ,, thanks all
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 30, 2015
  7. Noni_sk8er

    Noni_sk8er New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    noble park
    Members Ride:
    ve omega s1
    This pannel seems to be a dual climate control and the car has single climate control ,, last picture is from the factory head unit plug ,,I can manage the head unit wiring ,, thanks
     
  8. ShinWow

    ShinWow Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Location:
    Central Coast
    Members Ride:
    VF2 SSV 6.2L Manual
    "Quasi climate control" hahaha, nice. Where did you get it from?
     
  9. bonners

    bonners New Member

    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    Sting SV Black Edition Tourer
    Awesome write up and I've just bought speakers to change. I've watched a video in regards to removing the rear door cards and it looks ridiculously easy. But the video for the fronts makes mention about being careful with the front ones and a seal.

    Any tips?
     
  10. henrytad

    henrytad New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    Bella Vista, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 Series II
    Has anyone installed speakers in the rear parcel shelf? If so. How?
     
  11. AZ_SSV

    AZ_SSV New Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    07 VE SSV
    You could run a line out converter of you rear door speaker and use that as your amp input or,
    Might as well run a 4 channel loc of the back of your head unit and upgrade all speakers, amp the speakers and add a sub into the boot. The door speakers are a good location, I wouldn't waste my time on a parcel shelf install.
     
  12. Xplaya

    Xplaya 2008 VE SV6

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    2008 VE SV6
    I have a random question, anything wrong running 2 6x9s off 1 speaker wire. (My setup at the moment, I have a High output to the AMP/SUB from the left rear speaker wire and was thinking of installing 2 6x9s running off the right speaker wire?

    I would easily do this to my 90s Honda but dont know about these late model cars :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2016
  13. Micaxe

    Micaxe Member

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Location:
    Kellyville NSW
    Members Ride:
    '11 VE s2 SV6 manual
    Not something I would do, wouldn't sound the best. Need to keep separate left & right channels
     
  14. Xplaya

    Xplaya 2008 VE SV6

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    2008 VE SV6
    Damn, i thought about installing another amp (spare one i already have) for the 6x9s but the power issues these VEs have with batteries stock, i kind of dont want to lol.

    Dont really want to ditch the amp i have, but im guessing a 4 channel would be a wiser idea?
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2016
  15. Muke

    Muke New Member

    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VE SV6 MY08
    It all depends on the what amp, what speakers and how you wire it all up. If you wire them up in series, you increase the resistance and if you wire them up in parallel you decrease the resistance. If you don't know what you're doing you can do a lot of damage. And of course, as Micaxe said, you don't want both rear speakers running off the same channel for sound quality either, as per you're idea. But if you're thinking of running left door and 1 parcel shelf speaker from one output and the same for the right, you fix the sound but you really need to address whether it all still is within the amps specs. Personally I don't think you'll get any benefit form doing it and are better off just running 1 speaker per channel. (yes I do have a setup where I use 2 speakers wired together, but that's on a home system where I'm trying to manipulate the resistance so as not to destroy the amp). Hell, I didn't even bother amping the rear speakers in the car, just the fronts and sub. Plenty of noise for me.
     
  16. Xplaya

    Xplaya 2008 VE SV6

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    2008 VE SV6
    What would you suggest i do. I can only think of using a 4 ch amp? Is there a way i can do it using the stock head unit and a 2ch amp?

    My goal, is to keep front speakers as they are (I think they have already been changed, because they sound pretty good)
    * Dont want to touch the front doors.
    * Dont want to touch behind the stereo.
    Can only work with the 2 rear OEM speaker wires as they are easier to access.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2016
  17. splitpinss

    splitpinss New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Location:
    Perth
    Members Ride:
    VE SSV
    This is an amazingly helpful post. Many thanks.
     
  18. Selman

    Selman New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Location:
    Pilbara
    Members Ride:
    2011 SS VE sedan commadore
    Sedan Ss Ve 2011
     
  19. SILKENSTEIN

    SILKENSTEIN New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2017
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Members Ride:
    VE Berlina 2010
    Just for future readers. I just swapped my 2010 Berlina wagon speakers over last night. All 4x door speakers were 4 ohm not 2 ohm. I'll be putting a similar post up in the nex few weeks of what I've done.
     
  20. kronz

    kronz New Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VE SS Ute
    Post saved my butt, thanks!
     

Share This Page