Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

ve ignition wire help

Discussion in 'VE Holden Commodore (2006 - 2013)' started by slow vs, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. slow vs

    slow vs New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    ve
    hey guys does anyone know the easiest place to find an ignition wire in the engine bay of a ve omega?
     
  2. UFO

    UFO I Believe

    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    MY10 VE International Sportwagon SIDI 3L
    what are you looking to achieve?

    if it's extra security, all ve's already have an immobiliser as standard- so a remote kill switch isn't much help.
     
  3. stirringaxe

    stirringaxe New Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Location:
    Elsewhere
    Members Ride:
    07
    There is one going into the main fuse box R/H front of engine bay. Although tracking it down isn't easy. I had to unfasten mine & break into the harness plugs and use the the multi meter until I found one.
     
  4. slow vs

    slow vs New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    ve
    got some led fog lights from holmart and they have a control module that needs a 12v ignition wire
     
  5. stirringaxe

    stirringaxe New Member

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Location:
    Elsewhere
    Members Ride:
    07
    Yep that's why I was looking too. Mine also has a relay that turns the DRL's off as soon as you turn parkers or headlights on. Seems it is illegal to have them on together.
     
  6. slow vs

    slow vs New Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Location:
    victoria
    Members Ride:
    ve
    yep thats exactly what mine has sounds like its going to be a pain in the arse to do

    i might have a look in the fuse box might find an easier way or get an auto elec in ha ha
     
  7. UFO

    UFO I Believe

    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Canberra
    Members Ride:
    MY10 VE International Sportwagon SIDI 3L
    wiper motor?

    only powered when ignition is on, but is safe enough to work on without blowing something up and keeps your work away from critical engine electrics.
     
  8. wazza675

    wazza675 New Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VE Omega Sportwagon
    Hey stirringaxe, do you remember what colour the wire was (red I assume) and which loom it was in (left or right side when looking at the fuse box front on)?

    Already mounted some DLRs but now need to power them... The auto-elec said to wire them into the parkers (like many on here), but I'd prefer to have direct power and then a relay to the standard lights so they switch off when they come on. The other problem with direct power from the parkers, is you can't use them on the odd occasion when they're needed without the DLRs on then.

    I've also put fogs in but the Omega loom doesn't have the provisions for them (like the up-spec models that are plug 'n' play). I've got the appropriate OEM switch but I'm not sure if you can just hack into it or whether I'll need and aftermarket one. This is probably one for the auto-elec...
     

Share This Page