Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VR Calais with t5 conversion wont start

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by C4L4IS, Feb 20, 2012.

  1. C4L4IS

    C4L4IS New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Forster, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR '93 Calais
    hey guys, just converted the calais to manual, put the manual ecu and harness and everything in but it wont fire, the starter motor solenoid doesnt even click and i know it works...
    all the plugs are in and everything but it just does nothing when i turn the key
    the computer lights up fine the key turns fine stereo even works but theres just nothing from the starter.
    any help or ideas? would be much appreciated
     
  2. FstStig

    FstStig Diagnostician

    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2010 VE SV6
    Is it the Manual starter motor or still the auto one?
     
  3. C4L4IS

    C4L4IS New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Forster, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR '93 Calais
    tried both. they look exactly the same?
    just went through the wiring and it seems to be around the relay box cause we can fire the starter by touching the starter plug with a wire from the positive battery terminal
    but now the horn doesnt work either...
     
  4. Jxfwsf

    Jxfwsf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Aus
    Members Ride:
    commodore
    didn't forget to bypass the p/n safety switch wires from the old auto shifter?
     
  5. FstStig

    FstStig Diagnostician

    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2010 VE SV6
    He is using the Manual wiring harness. Bypassing the safety switch is only required when using the auto wiring harness.
     
  6. GTP 85

    GTP 85 291 hp @ the wheels

    Messages:
    1,461
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Location:
    Murray Bridge S.A
    Members Ride:
    MY04 WRX, VS SSenator & VS V6 track weapon
    Auto and manual starters arent the same?
     
  7. C4L4IS

    C4L4IS New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Forster, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR '93 Calais
    how are they not the same? the unit is exactly the same, and all they are is a motor with a solenoid which when sent power, drives the flywheel gear?
    checked the diagnostics and it came up with code 33 Manifold Absolute Pressure Sensor (MAP) high voltage ?
     
  8. Jxfwsf

    Jxfwsf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Aus
    Members Ride:
    commodore
    it isn't part of the engine loom it's part the body wiring, where the reverse switch wires that you've had to extend there should be another 2 unused pins in that plug.
    grey and a grey/blue wire, are these joined?

    vr start charge.jpg

    map fault won't stop it from turning over.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2012
  9. FstStig

    FstStig Diagnostician

    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2010 VE SV6
    Here is the guide if you are wanting to keep the AUTO Wiring harness and Computer
    Modifying Gearbox Loom. to keep auto computer. (VR only)
    On the manual gearbox there are two connectors One For the reverse lights and the other for the speed sensor.

    Connected to the auto shifter will be a white plug with four wires connected to it the grey and grey/black wires are for the neutral safety switch. they need to be shorted together to allow the car to start.
    The other two wires on this connector are pink and green, they are the wires for the reverse lights test this yourself by touching them together and looking at the reverse lights.
    To get the reverse lights working you will need some more wire to extend them to the gearbox. when you have enough length crimp a blade connector on each wire *Note they do not have to go onto the gearbox in a specific order (i had a spare loom sitting in the shed so i used the same colours to keep it factory looking.)
    To get the speed sensor working you will Need 3 things.
    Positive
    Negative
    Signal Wire to the dash.
    The signal wire is the Purple/White Cable this has to be extended over to just above the ecu. where you will also find a purple/white wire on a plug leading from the computer up into the dash. this is the wire you need to cut and connect your extended wire.
    For the Positive and Ground i used My spare Cigarette lighter Wiring but you could also use the wiring for the light around the auto shifter surround.
    Then drill a hole through your gearshift plate and put a grommet in and run the wires through to the connectors.( it is recommended you do this while the car is still up in the air.)

    No MAP fault wont stop it from turning over, it will only stop it from firing... Fix the fault that you know is there first.
     
  10. FstStig

    FstStig Diagnostician

    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2010 VE SV6
  11. Jxfwsf

    Jxfwsf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Aus
    Members Ride:
    commodore
    have a look at a factory manual vr near the shifter under the console, where the factory reverse wires through the trans tunnel there is a plug, this is what i'm referring to.
    in an auto it also goes to the inhibitor switch and has 4 wires going to the switch.
    in a manual the plug has a wire loop joining 2 pins and 2 wires going off to the reverse switch, comes like this from the factory, without the wire loop you will have no starter.
    It is not part of the engine/ecu loom at all.
     
  12. FstStig

    FstStig Diagnostician

    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2010 VE SV6
    If I ever feel the need to do so I will, but for now I would rather focus on the OP's problem.
     
  13. Jxfwsf

    Jxfwsf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Aus
    Members Ride:
    commodore
    and that is why i initially asked if the OP had done the mod, if he hasn't it's a high possibility that it is the cause before you piped up saying it isn't needed.
     
  14. LS1 James

    LS1 James Donates His Member

    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    Andrews Farm, SA
    Members Ride:
    VT II GEN3 V8 Wagz

    Auto and Manual starters are most definately not the same.
     
  15. UW1SH

    UW1SH New Member

    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Members Ride:
    VR 5speed With ecotec conversion
    Agreed and also you will need to put a manual starter in firstly then bridge the auto terminals at the shifter.. then you should be alryt to go
     
  16. James39

    James39 Gave up on VL's

    Messages:
    1,029
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    Newcastle NSW
    Members Ride:
    1995 VS Acclaim & 1992 Holden Barina
    I have a starter motor that was meant for a manual, but is working on my Auto. It is a 10 teeth one....
    There is a gap where there should not be one and does not have the nose cone that my original auto had, I know there is 9 teeth and a 10 teeth types.
     
  17. wamboin23

    wamboin23 Donating Member w/ Boost

    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Location:
    Wamboin, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VS Calais - Cooled L67 + T56 | VR Acclaim V6
    late VP's and some early auto VR's used a manual starter motor. so good chance they are the same. the starter won't physically fit in and bolt up properly if you try and fit an 'auto' starter to a manual.

    people need to stop responding if they don't know whats going on.
     
  18. C4L4IS

    C4L4IS New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Forster, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR '93 Calais
    thanks for the replies guys
    my Calais is a 93 model, and the starter motors when put beside each other are the exact same, to the teeth.
    I am able to start and run my car by unplugging the purple wire near the relay box and extend another wire from the pin to the positive terminal..

    I have not bridged any wires or anything to my gearbox, there was no inhibitor switch or anything in the cockpit or on my manual loom that was not connected to anything?
    I feel stupid but if I am wrong, would you draw a rough diagram to explain this to me?
    I could upload some photos if need be to explain
     
  19. Jxfwsf

    Jxfwsf Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Location:
    Aus
    Members Ride:
    commodore

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 21, 2012
  20. C4L4IS

    C4L4IS New Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Location:
    Forster, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VR '93 Calais
    heck yes got it started and it's running beaut! sounds louder, crackles heaps on the decel, and I only paid $200 for all my parts haha
    ended up being the inhibitor switch, and btw the starter motor IS exactly the same. possibly cause it's an early model or something..dunno
    thanks for all the help guys! might post pics up in another thread when I put my 19's back on it after the camber kit.
     

Share This Page