Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VS running rough, misfiring under load

Discussion in 'VR - VS Holden Commodore (1993 - 1997)' started by Barto76, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. Barto76

    Barto76 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Hi all, have a VS V6, was running a little rough and had done everything except replace the ignition leads.

    After replacing the leads and it was running beautifully and was the gutsiest it's been for a long time when I planted the foot on the accelerator. This lasted only a couple of days and now it's running like a POS, especially when the revs get over 2000. Any thoughts?
     
  2. 88GreenVN

    88GreenVN Next Exit Left

    Messages:
    6,792
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    Elizabeth Vale
    Members Ride:
    2000 VX on Gas
    You may have a dead coil.
     
  3. VTCommoDude

    VTCommoDude New Member

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Members Ride:
    VT COMMODORE
    Running Rough

    Buy about 3-4 cans of Carby cleaner. Take the air intake off and spray out inside the throttle. You will see black carbon pouring out. Take off the EGR valve and clean it too. Also, do all the sensors and plugs around this area (also the sensors inside the air intake tube).

    It will be hard to start afterwards and will shoot a massive cloud of smoke, but you will notice instant performance. Perfect starting and running.

    Do this every 4 weeks for about 6mths.
     
  4. Barto76

    Barto76 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    I'll give that a bash, already put in some of that injector cleaner in the tank to see if that works. It's something to do with the 3rd cylinder, took of the injector lead to that and the idle didnt change. Cheers for the info
     
  5. Brett_jjj

    Brett_jjj New Member

    Messages:
    6,805
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Tamworth NSW
    Members Ride:
    vs commodore
  6. Barto76

    Barto76 New Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Two dead coils it was. Seems coincidental that the coil pack experienced problems soon after replacing the leads.

    Should there be error codes coming up with that? I kept getting a 12.
     
  7. VS_ equipe

    VS_ equipe New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Location:
    frankston
    Members Ride:
    VS 1997 equipe v6 shitbox
    NEED HELP!!
    My 97 vs 6cyl idles like a bag of shit, like its short of fuel, kind of hunting revs, and its up and down all the time hot or cold. runs beautiful when u put ur foot down and thrash it, but really struggles just to cruise along and misses if ur not giving it a gut-full.
    Ive done plugs, leads, coil pack, intake manifold gasket, injectors and im ####ing stumped.
    anyone have any idea's????
     
  8. adstheman1

    adstheman1 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Members Ride:
    vs berlina
    same problem with my vs shakes and no power wish i could help ;(
     
  9. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    fit a crank angle sensor and see how it goes mine used to miss at idle and shudder/miss when cruising was the cas on its way out
     
  10. b and my vs commy

    b and my vs commy New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland
    Members Ride:
    vs Excecutive 3.8l v6
    I think I have the same problem with mine I will look into it to....thanx
     

Share This Page