Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vt commodore sluggish and engine light

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by Filochik, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. Filochik

    Filochik New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne - East
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais V
    Hi guys.
    So I bought a Vt commodore in January, all was running fine till about 4 says ago, towed a trailer and Now it runs sluggish like it kind of jerks forward from stationary to 30km/hr then it runs normal, changess gears fine but then drive for a bit n the engine light comes on n this really loud rattling sound starts when I put on the accelerator, no matter if I turn off the car for 5 minutes n turn it back on I'll start driving then the engine light will come on again. There's also a kind of airy noise coming from what seems to be the dash but the aircon n heater aren't on. I've just also done a major service to the car with the plugs leads oil, transmission oil, radiator etc. I don't know what the hell is going on but it's starting to bug me n it loses soooo much power when the engine light is on can't accelerate fast or anything. help!!!!! Please!!!
     
  2. Filochik

    Filochik New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne - East
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais V

    Also!!! When it first started to happen there was a ticking noise like from
    a bomb ticking noise haha. But seriously, sluggish, engine light, really loud rattling possibly from the exhaust or under the car N high loss of power. Please help!!!!!!! Thanks
     
  3. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,245
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
  4. Filochik

    Filochik New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne - East
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais V
    Im not that good at doing that stuff. But I'll try. Cars running disgusting today
     
  5. Heffer_Slayer

    Heffer_Slayer New Member

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VX Berlina
    Give it a go yourself. If you dont get anywhere, take it in to someone who knows what they are doing before the problem explodes into a bigger one. :boxing:
     
  6. Filochik

    Filochik New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne - East
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais V
    Hi! So I checked the codes usig a Bobby pin because I had no paperclips... It comes up code 19 which I found on the code list throttle position sensor (sticking open) I'm not sure where that is all I know with the car is how to do services like replacingbouls and filters etc so could someone please tell me where the throttle position sensor is and how to fix it ? Is it bad that it's like it is?
     
  7. HoldrodeoLT

    HoldrodeoLT I have no lemon pledge...

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Members Ride:
    2004 Holden Rodeo RA LT, 2008 Polaris Hawkeye 300
    this is yout TPS it sits just above your throttle body... two bolts hold it in... try giving it a good clean with some MAF sensor cleaner

    [​IMG]
     
  8. HoldrodeoLT

    HoldrodeoLT I have no lemon pledge...

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Members Ride:
    2004 Holden Rodeo RA LT, 2008 Polaris Hawkeye 300
    Sorry ignore that.. that your IAC valve.. this is yout TPS and if its faulty you need to take it to a EFI specialist so they can re set it.. or you may need a new one all to gether

    [​IMG]
     
  9. HoldrodeoLT

    HoldrodeoLT I have no lemon pledge...

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Members Ride:
    2004 Holden Rodeo RA LT, 2008 Polaris Hawkeye 300
  10. Filochik

    Filochik New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne - East
    Members Ride:
    VE Calais V
    Thanks love. I got quoted $280 from Holden for the part and fitted. But just as o got the codes I got out of the car and locked the doors with my key and walked into my key and bent it a bit in the lock, tried to bend it back and it snapped!! N it was my only key for the car arghhh!! N I called Holden to get te keycode to bring to a locksmith to get one cut and they said I needed proof I own the car but my rego papers are in my car and I can't unlock it because the remote that unlocks the doors doesn't work it only let's te key start the car and unlock the door!!! Worst. Hate this car so much. Btw it only has 154000kms on it.
     
  11. WogBoyz

    WogBoyz 435rkw/590rwhp

    Messages:
    3,151
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Location:
    Cairns, Qld
    Members Ride:
    08 VE SSV M6 Ute
    man that needs a good clean out lol
     

Share This Page