Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vt engine light came on

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by 98vtberinla, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. 98vtberinla

    98vtberinla New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    gold coast
    Members Ride:
    vt berlina
    hi i have a 98 vt berlina series 1 filled up at the servo turned the car on and the engine light came on pretty much straight away while the engine light was on it reved slightly higher than usual(doing 100 on highway usally sits on 1500 when light was on did 2000)and also it was sluggish between gear changes ,pulled up turned the car off then turned it back on and the light hasnt come on since and has run perfect any ideas on what it could be???
     
  2. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,245
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    Whenever the engine light comes on a fault code is usually logged in the computer. You can get the codes checked at Holden or any other place that has the right equipment. You can also check the codes on a V6 yourself, here is a link that will show you how: http://forums.justcommodores.com.au/holden-commodore-how-tos/23665-checking-error-codes-vt-vx.html. This will not work on a 5.7 V8.
    The fact that your car was revving at 2000 rpm instead of 1500 suggests to me that it was not changing from 3rd to 4th gear.
     
  3. 98vtberinla

    98vtberinla New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    gold coast
    Members Ride:
    vt berlina
    thanks mate ill check the codes 2night
     
  4. 98vtberinla

    98vtberinla New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    gold coast
    Members Ride:
    vt berlina
    ok just checked it codes came up 12 and 19 why would i get 12(system pass)as awell as 19(throttle position sensor)?
     
  5. EXC55V

    EXC55V LS1 Goodness !!

    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Location:
    South-West Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VY SS
    maybe the throttle sensor is sendin spazzed codes.. might be slipping while reading and getting mixxed readings
     
  6. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,245
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    It always starts with code 12 three times, then any other codes three times, then it ends with code 12 three times. Looks like the TPS could be your problem.
     
  7. 98vtberinla

    98vtberinla New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    gold coast
    Members Ride:
    vt berlina
    thats weird isnt it? if you get a code 12 wouldnt that come up alone with no other codes???
     
  8. 98vtberinla

    98vtberinla New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    gold coast
    Members Ride:
    vt berlina
    oh ok i see so its just code 19 what can i do with tps is there something i can do or do u just need to get a new one?
     
  9. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,245
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    Code 12 always comes up regardless of any other codes.
     
  10. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,245
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    Check this attachment
     

    Attached Files:

  11. 98vtberinla

    98vtberinla New Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Location:
    gold coast
    Members Ride:
    vt berlina
    cheers mate
     
  12. brad_m_is

    brad_m_is New Member

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Members Ride:
    2002 VX Calais
    if i was you if just wait to see if it happens again before spending any money on it. Could have just been off computer spazz or something
     
  13. delcowizzid

    delcowizzid on holiday

    Messages:
    6,115
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    NZ
    Members Ride:
    в∞ѕтεכ √&
    just fit a new tps they are cheap.code 12 is sort of the ok code it stands for no rpm signal cause the car isnt going you dont get rpm thats why there is an ok code cause it is still an error code
     

Share This Page