Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VT error code scanner

Discussion in 'VT - VX Holden Commodore (1997 - 2002)' started by Niper, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. Niper

    Niper New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VX 5.7 A4
    Hello I have a 2001 GEN III automatic 4 speed

    and the engine light come on a week ago and i want to scan for the error code
    but i do not have a scanner

    can some one tell me which scanner would work on my car and i dont want an expensive one if someone already has one that works can he please give me its name so i can be sure it works before i buy it.

    Thanks alot
     
  2. showbags

    showbags SENIOR EL'BAGO

    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    geelong
    Members Ride:
    VT Calais, BMW 135 m sport
    short terminals 5 & 6 ( the 2 on the top right of conector), turn ignition on and count flashes.
     
  3. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,245
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    That won't work on an LS1, you need a Tech 2 or compatible scan tool.
     
  4. VTLS1

    VTLS1 New Member

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Location:
    IPSWICH
    Members Ride:
    VT S2 LS1 -VX S2 SS LS1
    Just had a look at a workshop manual & in there it tells you to connect 5/6 terminal together,even for the LS1 version but,they arent always right. Also had a look through Holden techlines updates/service & faults just in case but that wasnt helpfull as thats based mainly on using a Tech2. A simple tech2 check like this should only be $20 at the most,after all its only a 5 minute job. Unfortunately to buy a tech2 is out of reach for the average joe. Last price i got was $2000 for one. Most,if not all other scanners on the market wont correctly read or are able to reset VT's only VX onward. A mate bought one,was assured by reputable tool supplier that it would work....it didnt. There are some scanners that will work on VT's but they wont do everything they are capable of doing.
     
  5. Niper

    Niper New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VX 5.7 A4
    Will this device work
    Autel
     
  6. accentstencil

    accentstencil Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    7,245
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Eschol Park, Sydney
    Members Ride:
    WH II Caprice, 5.7
    Bridging pins 5&6 won't work.
    It's hard to know if that scanner will work or not, I bought a similar one that works for some live data but will not read fault codes. Here is one like I bought:U585 VAG & CAN OBDII CODE SCANNER READER MEMO SCAN OBD2 - eBay Other, Tools, Car Parts, Accessories, Cars, Bikes, Boats. (end time 31-Mar-10 23:11:51 AEDST)
    The only thing that will work that I know of is EFI Live but it is a little more expensive than these scanners. There is an EFI Live forum that will give you information.http://forum.efilive.com/
    The oil pressure sender is a common problem on the LS1 and also the PCV hoses, the rubber parts perish.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2010

Share This Page