Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VZ ECU Reprogramming

Discussion in 'VZ Holden Commodore (2004 - 2006)' started by rebecca22, Mar 2, 2009.

  1. rebecca22

    rebecca22 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VZ Executive Wagon
    Has anyone been able to reprogram their ECU in a VZ for greater power? I see powerchip offer to upgrade the firmware but it's very expensive.
     
  2. andyman

    andyman The Only 6sp VZ Wagon

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Location:
    Orange, NSW
    Members Ride:
    2012 BT50 4x4, 84 Hilux 4x4 & 05 Husky TE450

    if your in sydney, castle hill exhausts have a good name for alloytec tuning and exhausts
     
  3. rebecca22

    rebecca22 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VZ Executive Wagon
    So no ordinary person has been able to reflash their ecu?
     
  4. cold_carve

    cold_carve New Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Sth East Vic
    Members Ride:
    VE2 SS 6sp Manual
    I do, use hp tuners VCM suite software. done the day course on the software, and im always trialing different tunes on my ute to try and improve torque power and fuel economy.
     
  5. Ewok

    Ewok New Member

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Location:
    Palmyra, WA
    Members Ride:
    R32 GTR 360AWHP
    Gotta ask too cold_carve, I am wanting to get my hands on the software. How much is it for the tune and stuff? Been told around $900 ?
     
  6. cold_carve

    cold_carve New Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Sth East Vic
    Members Ride:
    VE2 SS 6sp Manual
    not sure as prices are witheld atm due to fluctuations in global economy, cause software is joint developed in US and here AU. Yeah simply have to get on the blower to guys at VCM Suite and go from there. Suggest getting the pro package (what im using) as yeah you have an I/O interface, so u can then later down the track wire in a widebands, map and other sensors for added realtime logging if ya wish.
     
  7. Ewok

    Ewok New Member

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Location:
    Palmyra, WA
    Members Ride:
    R32 GTR 360AWHP
    I personally wouldn't really be interested in any monitoring or anything, I just want to get rid of the f**king torque management bulls**t.
     
  8. cold_carve

    cold_carve New Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Sth East Vic
    Members Ride:
    VE2 SS 6sp Manual
    well that said id suggest paying kung fu a visit and getting him to do the work for ya, cause monitoring whats goin on is like 2/3 of the work, ya gotta have a good picture of whats going on to make the changes nessasary.
     
  9. Ewok

    Ewok New Member

    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Location:
    Palmyra, WA
    Members Ride:
    R32 GTR 360AWHP
    ah righteo.
     
  10. cold_carve

    cold_carve New Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Sth East Vic
    Members Ride:
    VE2 SS 6sp Manual
    id do the work for ya myself and save ya the hassle if you were close to home (visa versa)
    yeah nah pm kung fu, know he aint far off ya, hed be happy to help no doubt!
     
  11. HUMBLZ

    HUMBLZ New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VZ
    anyone know of any people in Melbourne that good a job with alloytec tuning? :D
     
  12. cold_carve

    cold_carve New Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Sth East Vic
    Members Ride:
    VE2 SS 6sp Manual
    right here.
     
  13. HUMBLZ

    HUMBLZ New Member

    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Members Ride:
    VZ
    what area mate?pm me if u want:thumbsup:
     
  14. rebecca22

    rebecca22 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VZ Executive Wagon
    Got the power chip version. They send me the programmer and i extracted my VZ bin file and returned it to them. They emailed back the new version, i programmed it. All sweet. BIG difference.
     
  15. Danoz

    Danoz New Member

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    Members Ride:
    VZ 06 Exec
    They sent you the programmer???
     
  16. -scyth-

    -scyth- Im alright its the others

    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria
    Members Ride:
    VZ Wagon 05



    When you say BIG difference, what exactly is really different about the wagon? Ive got the same car & was wondering what this tunes all about...
     
  17. rebecca22

    rebecca22 New Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Members Ride:
    VZ Executive Wagon
    Yes, they sent the programmer and I got my female bod in the car and did the upgrades. The power increase was HUGE.
     
  18. cold_carve

    cold_carve New Member

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Sth East Vic
    Members Ride:
    VE2 SS 6sp Manual
    Personally im very sceptical of bench tunes, how its done is the work of the tune compiled with the use of a mule vehicle. Sure theyre often an improvement on the stock tune but theyre a generalised tune theyre not 100% made to suit your vehicle, in addition to bench tunes theres no realtime data logged from your vehicle revealing in detail whats happening with your engine.
    But all the same, good to hear the tunes working for you Rebecca.
     
  19. monaro327

    monaro327 New Member

    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Members Ride:
    VZ Skaife Senator & VY SS UTE
    anything that removes the throttle management will make a huge difference.
     
  20. torana355

    torana355 Member

    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney
    Members Ride:
    VE SERIES 2 MY11 SSV A6 in IVY GREEN
    I have a full VCM tune but i would not say the difference is huge. The car is better off the line due to the torque management being removed but it is not a huge difference. The car also revs out a little quicker but once not a massive difference.
     

Share This Page