Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

L98 roller rockers ?

scouser king

Reaction score
Members Ride
06 VE SS
Hay all
.Does the l98 v8 have roller rockers as standard?If so are any good and can you get after market ones eg. yella terra?Or if anyone point to a thread on this subject that would great
thanks.

Dazzak75

The HULK
Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SS Ute
From what I am led to believe they are not roller rockers but hydraulic roller lifters, not as good as the roller rockers

scouser king

Reaction score
Members Ride
06 VE SS
From what I am led to believe they are not roller rockers but hydraulic roller lifters, not as good as the roller rockers

oh ok iam still new to v8's,any other info woud be great.

Dazzak75

The HULK
Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SS Ute
I am still learning things too, but you can change the lifters to rollers, but I don't think it is cheap, the lifters are still good, haven't had any issues with mine, the only issue you can get is if you put a large cam in and advance it to gain more power, you could have an issue with piston to valve clearance.

But there also seems to be a bit of an issue with the VCM OTR at the moment, filters coming loose, housing cracking, so be careful on your decision of one of these too.

scouser king

Reaction score
Members Ride
06 VE SS
I am still learning things too, but you can change the lifters to rollers, but I don't think it is cheap, the lifters are still good, haven't had any issues with mine, the only issue you can get is if you put a large cam in and advance it to gain more power, you could have an issue with piston to valve clearance.

But there also seems to be a bit of an issue with the VCM OTR at the moment, filters coming loose, housing cracking, so be careful on your decision of one of these too.