Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

water pump, do it myself ???

evil_monkey

Reaction score
Members Ride
Holden
ive got a 1996 vs v6 exec and looks like the water pumps shot its making all kinds of wonderfull grinding noises and i think its leaked a couple of times which seems to be a warning when the pumps on its way out is this something i can attemp to do myself or should i pay through the nose and get our trusty holden techs to do it ??, im by no means a mechanic but every prob ive had ive seemed to fix it myself despite paying out for mechanics to fix it and getting zero results :bang:

V

VSAccCom

ive done it with the help of a mechanic who showed me, piece of piss really, just make sure u got something/somewhere to drain ur coolant and just make sure u get the right pump coz there where 2 pumps used if im not mistaken, then just get some loctite no3 and ur set, shouldnt take more than about 30-45 min

vt1538

455rwhp LS3
Reaction score
Members Ride
VY SS S2 11.284@125mph
Also draw how the serpentine belt goes on the pulleys as it is easy to forget how it goes.

A

anotherstockvs

yer im a 2nd year aprentice water pumps are ****in easy as on a vs, ive pulled my belt of a million times ands i know where it goes, just look in the owners manual and will have it there all ya need is sum pirmatex to put around the new water pump gasket and yer if u really want to u can put loc tite on the water pump bolts not really needed tho should take u 25 minutes with time to spare for a beer :p

evil_monkey

Reaction score
Members Ride
Holden
VSAccCom said:
just make sure u get the right pump coz there where 2 pumps used if im not mistaken