Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Oils Aint Oils

mattman

Reaction score
Members Ride
'00 WH V6
Or are they?

Anyway.. on to the point of the thread, I'm a complete noob with this! First car and I know nothing :)

I've got about an inch on the dipstick, I don't know what is in there. The service ctr at the dealer I got it from use magnatec, but I'd have to check if they actually did an oil change on it.

Now my question, is it going to hurt the engine by just chucking in some new oil if it's not the same as what's in there now? Or should I get it booked in for an oil/filter change? (if i can't confirm with the service ctr).

Thanks in advance!

Scooter79

Reaction score
Members Ride
VSII Calais supercharged
Hey mattman,

One way to check if the dealer has done an oil change on the car is to look at the oil filter. It should be pretty clean on the outside. Also the oil on the dipstick should be nice and clean and look like a 'film' of oil. Not think and black or sludgy or lumpy.

What do you mean by "chucking in new oil"? Do you mean topping it up with a different brand, or draining empty then using a different brand? Never ever mix oils. Thats a no no. Changing brands is ok as long as you fully drain the old stuff and new filter. I can recommend Castrol GTX2. My VS engine is 382,000k's old and all original. I change my oil and filter at every 5000k's.

You should really learn to do simple things like changing oil yourself. Ask a friend or someone who knows how to do it if your're unsure about anything. 5 litres of oil is only around $20 and an oil filter about $8. A dealer will charge you about $60 or $70. All you need is a 19mm socket or ring spanner to undo the sump plug and drain into a pan. Hope this helps.

mattman

Reaction score
Members Ride
'00 WH V6