Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Cutting rear breaks for DRIFTING and hand brake problem

R

rickyray

Hey guys great site, im a newbie.
I have a VR Statesman and me and a mate were out for a cruise the other night and he was telling me something about being able to cut out my back brakes by clamping the fluid going to the back so you get full power from the back and breaks at the front for drifting.
Is there any truth in that.

Also my handbrake is totaly ****ed. I pull it right up and doesnt do anything i can drive with it up and doesnt make a bit of difference, Is it an easy fix

Anyone can help us out that will be great.

WiLo

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS exec
umm stoping your rear brakes from working wont help you be a fully sick dorifto.
as for the handbrake tighten it up and it should work unless youve ****ed it by doing to many handbrakies

betts

Reaction score
Members Ride
b
if u really want to lose ur rear brakes the best thing to do is get line lockers. that way u can turn ur rear brakes on and off without completely losing them. yea my handbrake is rooted aswell i think all u have to do is tighten the cable, sounds prettye easy but i havent got around to it yet.

Patrio7

3Y3 K4N 5P33K 1337.
Reaction score
Members Ride
'96 S1 VS Exec
under the car where the cable hooks up to the handbrake there should be a bow like thingy and two nuts locked together, simply unlock them and take the slack out of your handbrake whilst its down [ take it just past slack ] then simply relock the nuts to hold it there, this should fix the hand brake issue.

so for the brakes you acctually want a little more bias to the rear to get it to swing out but clamping the lines has hree problems:

1) its dangerous
2) it's ileegal [ in wa ]
3) you'd have to replace the lines to get them working again.