Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Gearbox rattle? Newbie

vracclaim2

Reaction score
Members Ride
VR Acclaim S2
Hey all, First up i'll start by saying nice site. Im impressed. I'm not a newbie to cars or commodores by any means just this site. Anyways on to the problem. I have just bought a VR acclaim S2. The car is bog stock and in gc. Now when I bought it it had a slight rattle which I mistakenly thought was a F**ked cat converter. After jumping under the car I found it was coming from the Gearbox. I took it to my mech who said it was the Torque converter or Flex plate which is what I thought it had to be.
Anyway 5 hours later and a new TC and everybolt and the FP checked it still makes the same frekin noise. Its just sounds like a loose rattle and is def coming from in side that inspection plate. Anyone had the same similar prob? Oh and I just replaced the HB but the noise was there B4 and After that so that has nothing to do with it. Thanks all.

hako

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS11 BT1 V6
It's not the starter motor pinion fouling with the ring gear....or a rattle from somewhere else which "appears" to be coming from the inspection plate (noise does travel!). Does it do it in park or rev/drive and what is the HB?(excuse my ignorance). Good Luck.

vracclaim2

Reaction score
Members Ride
VR Acclaim S2