Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Transmission fluid in engine bay

iansown

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Executive
Whilst travelling along highway engine started over reving. Stopped and found Automatic transmission fluid all over the drivers side of the engine bay. Managed to get home slowly and have topped up fluid to correct level. Runs perfectly now and I can not find any leak at all. Any ideas?

Boonz

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
green 355 VG ute
check all your trans cooler lines and check for cracks in the transfluid tank attatched to the radiator if it has one

ozsmoka

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Berlina 5 litre (97)
Hey iansown,

Are you sure it was trans fluid and not power steering fluid?

How has the steering been lately?

Im no expert but but Id double check power steering for leaks also :)

cheers

iansown

Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Executive
Steering is good as is power steering fluid level. Where is transmission breather thought it may be comeing from there?

genIIIbandit

Reaction score
Members Ride
VX Series II SS BLACK M6
it was a recall from holden, when the trans gets hot it spus oil out of filler, do an auto service, change filter and fit the later locking trans dipstick, that should fix it! good luck

hako

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS11 BT1 V6