Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Flasher unit constantly ticking.

hshaw

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Executive Wagon
The flasher unit in my VT exec wagon is constantly ticking rapidly. The indicators still work but there is also a slight burning smell. Should I just replace the flasher unit or would it be something more sinister?

hshaw

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Executive Wagon
Quick update and question.

I replaced the flasher unit and still have the same problem.

My question is:

Is the engine management computer the same as the body control module? Sorry if it is a stupid question, i'm new to this.

cuckoo

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT V6 twin Turbo
2 different things bcm is under the steering wheel and controls security etc computer is in the left kick panel

SMOKN_LJ

Reaction score
Website
www.cardomain.com
Members Ride
LJ Torana, VL Calais
the problem with the blinkers is in the blinker stalk, the blinker noise happens more frequently in the hotter time of the year as the contacts get warmer and expand, if you replace the blinker stalk it should fix your problem.

hshaw

Reaction score
Members Ride
VT Executive Wagon
I took the car to get looked at and in the end it was the indicator stalk. $133 later it's all fixed.

wal

Reaction score
Members Ride
vt executive v6/vc commodores
hi all also changed my blinker stalk thru constant ticking it was only $54 from mcgragh holden at moorebank

vy_pete05

Please rate my feedback
Reaction score
Members Ride
'04 VY Exec SII
i have that problem, and when driving with high beams the indicator makes a constant and quick ticking sound...im assuming the prob is the same, at least now you know you're not alone on this one :)

Thomo

UNLEASH THE LION WITHIN
Reaction score
Members Ride
FAMILY VT & HONDA 04 CRF250