Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Ticking Noise

Killr6

tutut
Reaction score
Members Ride
BA XR6T
hey guys yet again another problem with my 99 VT.

when i start the car sometimes there is a ticking noise (only started this morning) and sometimes when i start it there is no noise, i took a few pictures of where i think the sound is coming from.

100_0324.jpg100_0323.jpg100_0325.jpg

also this is my daily, my new car is not on the road yet. so any help would be awesome

Cheers Dan.

304runner

( .Y. )
Reaction score
Members Ride
VR 5.0 Ute & a 4runner with a VS SS trasplant
I did the lifters on my v8 about 12 months ago and it took me about 3 hours. But im not a mechanic so obviously less for anyone with half an idea. I just had to take my valley cover off a everything attached to it, then replace all the lifters which took me ages because i couldn't get the little pricks out and then clean the areas where the gaskets go and she was sweet.. But my cam lobe was rooted and now I have the same problem. So make sure you have a good look at the cam lobes before you replace the lifters.

But in saying all that, someone else may have another idea as to what the issue may be.

[EDIT] I found this for you to read through http://forums.justcommodores.com.au/vz-holden-commodore-2004-2006/103808-noisy-lifter-one-more.html

Killr6

tutut
Reaction score
Members Ride
BA XR6T