Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Brake lights not working

beege

Reaction score
Members Ride
1991 VN Commodore Executive
I only just found out tonight that my VT brake lights are not working! Only the tail light on the right side works when the headlights are switched on. Faulty bulbs? Switch? Fuse? Advice would greatly be appreciated as I'm a car noob.

ephect

Donating Member
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Acclaim V6
most likely a faulty bulb, if the fuse was blown non of them would work.

get someone to see if both taillights and brake lights (foot on brake) work or not.

wraith

Hand over the dog bikkies
Reaction score
Members Ride
VX V6 Berlina. 2003 VW Passat
Sounds like bulbs. From memory they run dual filament. Brake filament breaks first because obviously it's being used more then the other.

MikeCuzzy

Jumping puddles
Reaction score
Members Ride
2007 VE Omega 3.6L
Could be both, the brake is on a different fuse if memory serves. So first of all check your fuses, the ones your are looking for are under the dash, the top 2, 10amp fuses on the left. Now the bulbs as Wraith said are dual filament, and usually about $3 from most servos. To get to the bulbs, pop the boot, and unsrew the 2 screws on the tailight. Gently, but firmly, push the taillights out parralel to the rear of the car. *Be cautious as plastic this old is pretty brittle*
Unscrew the bulb mounts inside and the bulbs are there.
If you're not sure, I'll take some photos and expand this a bit more if you need.

calais24/7

Mucca Mad Boys
Reaction score
Members Ride
VS Calais II 5L, 98 rodeo v6