Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Throttle body size ..... is bigger always better?

Ses

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vt exec 5ltr s1
Gidday im currently doing up a vt 5.0L wagon bit by bit and im looking at upgrading the throttle body as part of the process. I was looking at a 70mm one then came across a 90mm for around the same price. I was just wondering is it a case of the bigger the better or can this cause issues elswhere? Ive put on high flow cold air induction and a memcal chip im working on getting an exaust system made up right through because everything is just tired and stock standard. Id appreciate any feedback I can get as im pretty new to all this but loving it all the same :) cheers.

commodore665

expat Saffa
Reaction score
Members Ride
2005 SV6 & Alfa Romeo 156 V6
Hey man , I had on my old VX a bored out throttle body , and a host of other bits , growler intake , high ratio rockers , a tuned PCM , exhaust and headers , to be honest the gains were out weighed by cost , I got some extra gains , but would I do that again ? , probably not of course your V8 may benefit more than a V 6 , on a final note my SV 6 which is basically stock has more power than my VX had , even after the mods , point is how much are you willing to spend and what gains are you wanting to get .

Last edited:

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Reaction score
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX Calais II L67
70mm TB is where it's at for a standard banana manifold. I think it works even better on the VT 304's as they too have the little hump on one side of the TB behind the butterfly which is there to make the throttle opening more progressive like they did on the ecotec engines.