Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Easy and free fix for vz v6 engine miss (faulty ECU)

60HOM

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ V6
Hi everyone, this is my first post after following the site for awhile because my vz v6 developed a miss. Long story short it end up being a short in
No.6 INJ circuit, it was going to cost me $900+ for the ecu and $200+ to configure it :/

Being a mechanic myself I looked into it and found all I had to do was use one of the other INJ circuits to earth No.6 INJ, after splicing into INJ No.5
the miss disappeared :) with trouble free driving sence. So if anyone else out there has the same problem and wants to save $1000+ then replay on this post and ill detail how the carry the fix out, only takes about 15mins.

Cheers

99notout

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Equip Wagon
Yes please, if you have any diagrams or pictures that would be fantastic. Thanks for the offer! :beer chug:

greenacc

Searching for the billion
Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Berlina
How did you diagnose it ?

60HOM

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ V6
To diagnose is easy.

First disconnect each coil pack one at a time while the engine is running to find the missing cyl, replace that coil pack with another cyl's coil pack to see if the miss moves to that new cyl or stays in the same cyl.

If the miss moves then your coil pack is faulty, if it stays then and the spark plugs are good then its your inj which means your ecu has dropped out that inj due to a possible short from that coil pack.

Now to fix it without spending $1000+ on a ecu and tune

1. locate inj harness connection at the rear of intake manifold left side
2.if you look at the rear of the plug on the main harness side it should look like this.
brown/white pink/black brown/blue green red
yellow/black blue/black green/black

Cyl No.s