Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

vz maloo performance advice

harley.t

Reaction score
Members Ride
z series my06 maloo r8
Hey guys,

I'm about to dive into the performance side of things but im an electrician and don't know much in the way of performance. I live in Darwin and the choice of workshops isn't huge so I'm trying to get more advice, the more the better right?

My car is a vz maloo ls2 manual, I believe the gearbox is the m12 box. everything is pretty much stock. It does have the optional upgraded ap racing brakes. Can't remember exact details of the brakes. The standard diff is 3.45 but it has a whine after the cv joint gave way and smashed the diff so will probably change that out at the same time.

The intention of the car is a tough street car, reliability is my biggest concern not numbers on the dyno. Torque and bottem end power is what im chasing. The occasional track day and might have a crack at the 1/4 mile. only gets driven once a weekend if that so not a daily driver, however I don't want a pig of a car to drive. Acceleration!!!

Here's a quick list of the performance stuff I've ordered and about to order (pending on advice):

Harrop 1900 supercharger kit (intercooled) - ordered - ordered
Pacemaker full exhaust system (1 7/8" headers 3 inch exhaust)
Ripshift (race or street?)
Diff gears (3.7 or 3.9?)

So here's my questions which hopefully some of you guys might be able to answer some:

Whats the difference between street and race of the ripshifter? feel or quality?