Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Pedders Quote Excessive (as usual)

wetwork65

A wet business
Reaction score
Members Ride
VF SSV Wagon & VF SV6 Wagon
Just got the usual Pedders check done on my Adventra to find out the price to get rid of the clunk from suspension and I am up for $5650 parts and installation:hmmm:.
I know they have not found the real problem - the backlash in transmission is a different matter and sounds/feels different. I have many years of experience as a mechanical engineer in heavy industry, so hopefully know a few things about machinery. Not much still OK under car obviously. Seems to be a familiar story with Pedders and I told them I will just get a trade in pricing done to dump the car at that price.
Probably best I do not mention which franchise here, but it is in Perth - I went there as I was told they were pretty straight.
After inquiring on each item's real need they decided they can drop it down to only two items really required, since "all Holdens have these areas worn", but total still over $3000. Wow. As an example, they rated brand new brake pads all round as being close to end of life.
Even told me I had fitted the wrong sway bar links - when I said they were supplied by another Pedders branch, they changed their story to tell me that they must be right and installed incorrectly. In fact they were supplied by the Pedders branch I used to use because they were good, however they changed their tactics to standard Pedders style and I stopped using them.
I know the links have always been wrong length - drive shaft fouls the swaybar on both sides on tight turns. I must get around to changing them to adjustable type.

.....anyway, just my experience in the long saga of Pedders business methods.

ozNick

Reaction score
Members Ride
VL Berlina 3.0 Auto