Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

UTE owners. What are your tray setups like?

Vxcalaisv8

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ SS Thunder L98
I just bought my first ute. A 2006 VZ SS Thunder with a tub liner and hard lid. I'm new to this and would like to know how everyone has their tray set up and preferences. I have a tub liner with a couple of black 25L tubs secured with some hook elastic straps to chuck bags/small items in so they don't roll around. Is the tub liner good or should i ditch it? What are the best straps to use? Does anyone have a rubber mat? How much and where did you get them? Thanks guys look forward to some answers.

Vxcalaisv8

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ SS Thunder L98
I have also heard of a cargo securing ratchet pole but can't get them anywhere here in SA that i can find. Does anyone know of what I'm talking about or where i can find one in SA?

Sandman

Challenge Accepted
Reaction score
Members Ride
Too many
I have the tubliner in, does it job fine. I also have a large box occy strapped in the back corner which I chuck straps and other smaller stuff I don't want flying around the tray. Mats wise I have a set of those camping mats joined together from SCA, cost like $20 and works well. Only thing is I'd like something more substantial/heavier as the current mats try and take flight if travelling over 80 without something on them.

Husky

Reaction score
Members Ride
VXII L67 Berlina Wagon and VEIISSV M6 Sportswagon
Leave the tub liner in or you will ruin your tray with scratches and sh1t like mine. SCA has a mat i thinks a bit of a rip off at $100 thou. Ute Tray Mat - Rubber, Black, 1200 x 1830mm - Supercheap Auto Australia