Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Vz sv6 extractors and high flow cats

Chewysv6

Reaction score
Members Ride
Vz sv6
Hi guys,
Got some extractors and high flow cats the other day. Was thinking about putting them on with some mates. Was just wondering if anybody has any experience in doing this and has any tips such as do I need new gaskets, what do I seal them on with, is there any welding involved etc?
Any tips would be helpful

exanVZ

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Thunder
Hey mate, I'm not an expert but it should be pretty straight forward. There should be gaskets to go from the exhaust manifold to the headers on either side, you need to clean off all the old **** (make sure it doesn't fall in) and then you can seal the new ones on with some exhaust seal. Between the headers and cats you will have metal gaskets too, usually 4 bolt and will depend on the size of your pipes. Same deal just clean off any old crap and put a bit of sealant in with the new gaskets and bolt it up. If everything you have bought is 'bolt on' there will be no welding required. If you have just bought type of cats that need to be welded in, you will need to get some pipe made up for it. Not sure if the alloytecs need O2 sensor extenders or anything, I did on my LS1. Hope this helps a bit. Mostly pretty straight forward.

Not_An_Abba_Fan

Exhaust Guru
Reaction score
Members Ride
Strange Rover
Actually, the VZ is a prick of a job. There is a coolant pipe that runs down the RHS of the engine that needs the brackets undone so it can be moved to get to the bolts. Also, the front bolt on the RHS is a bastard to undo. You need a wobble head extension to get to it.

You won't need O2 sensor extensions, but you will need gaskets. Use sensor safe sealant on them, something like Ultra Blue.

Chewysv6

Reaction score