Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

VZ Berlina Wagon open diff to LSD diff change

mangled

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Berlina
Hi all,
After 10 years faultless service as a daily driver my VZ V6 Berlina Wagon is changing roles to be an occasional tow car for a shooting outfit. I will be driving some rough and slippery roads and paddocks. I have done a few simple mods to prep the wagon, but getting an LSD diff is important. Traction control off where I go is bad, traction control on is not better - just limits momentum. LSD is the best way forward (I grew up on dirt).

I have an 3.08 LSD to replace the 3.08 open diff. I started the change over but stopped when I couldn't see how on earth the front two top bolts holding the diff centre in could be accessed. There is no way I can get a spanner or socket onto these two bolts - the floor pan slopes up and over them. You can only just touch them by hand & can't get to them from the rear.

I paid $$ for a healthy LSD which is now sitting on my bench. I can't see how to get this new diff in apart from dropping the rear suspension cross member out. I've seen other posts where the diff swap out is explained bolt for bolt - and mechanically it should apply to my car - but I can't see how to get to those two front freakin bolts. Is it a different challenge for a wagon? What the hell am I missing? HELP!

tks
Mike

Immortality

Can't live without smoky bacon!
Staff member
Reaction score
Members Ride
HSV VS Senator, VX Calais II L67
Have you undone the rear diff mount and lowered the whole diff/cross member a bit?

mangled

Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ Berlina
Hi immortality
nope, I didn't do that.

It'd have to come down a hell of a lot to get at the front two bolts from the front of the diff. The wagon floor hugs the diff contour at the front.