Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

HID headlights

mkymus

Reaction score
Members Ride
VH Vacationer II
Yo I'm new to this!!
I have a VH Station wagon. I want to improve my lighting system (head lights) bought a pair of H4 55 watt BI-Xenon 4300 K. (the 4300K are a whiter light 3900L than the 6000K which are a blue/white 2900L (Lumen)) Question is are 55watt street legal I have looked up ADR rules but cant find any information.
All advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

bdj_007

Foose
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Members Ride
2002 Holden VX Equipe SII
4300K is legal. anything above that is illegal. I purchase philips 'power2night' h4's for the vx, fully adr compliant ;) and they are 4300k.

BANKS

DW I'm a Spray Painter!
Reaction score
Members Ride
VZ SSZ Ute
Did you buy an actual HID kit or just replacement globes? Like these:

philips_vision_plus.jpg

garfa

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY SS
ok, this is the EXACT position of the law WRT aftermarket HID:

a car can only be road legal in Aus if the headlights are manufacturers' spec.
So, if it came with convensional bulbs, no HID is allowed. This is because in the Govts view: a HID lighting system is far more bright and needs to be insured to angle downwards more than normal lights, that is, self leveling headlights and washers.

Unfortunately there are no exceptions......

Also another point to make, HID lights require a different reflector, commonly called a projector, than standard. The reflecting surface will need to be changed as the standard was for convensional bulbs and will not be optimum for HID.

Still thinking about buying a HID kit regardless.....

garfa

Reaction score
Members Ride
VY SS
ok, this is the EXACT position of the law WRT aftermarket HID: