Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Rough idle - what could it be.

VECom

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Commodore
VE has 6x1=6

Each cylinder has a coil direct on top of the spark plug. Nice design but you can't get the coil off or change the spark plugs without taking the inlet manifold off first. I could test the coils if I had a factory spec to measure them to.

Fuel filter I would think would be noticeable under load not idle but I could be wrong.

O2 possibly. Are these in service on idle?

Craig I've been ignoring it for many months but I've finally conceeded to the fact that it's not going to fix itself so decided to make a bit more of an effort.

Greg

shane_3800

Reaction score
Members Ride
vr commo
I don't actually understand what you're all talking about... But from the gist of what I've just read.. 2x3 = 6.

the two times three setup on the vn-vy v6's is a dfi direct fire ignition there are 3 coils that earth to them selfs so two sprak plugs fire at once it is also knowen as waste spark

gsh1970

Reaction score
Members Ride
2010 VE SSV ute XYZ XYZ
Dirty air filter? If your fuel consumption is up that may point to air filter

xoom

Reaction score
Members Ride
ve ssv
hmm my car idles at 550ish when its warmed up.

its my first v8, thought they all idled low?

Craig93

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE SS SEDAN
VE has 6x1=6

Each cylinder has a coil direct on top of the spark plug. Nice design but you can't get the coil off or change the spark plugs without taking the inlet manifold off first. I could test the coils if I had a factory spec to measure them to.

Fuel filter I would think would be noticeable under load not idle but I could be wrong.