Welcome to Just Commodores, a site specifically designed for all people who share the same passion as yourself.

Just Commodores Forum Community

It takes just a moment to join our fantastic community

Register

Holden Servicing rip-offs

Longman

Reaction score
Members Ride
VE Calais V 6.0 Auto
Very interesting thread to say the least. There are always 2 sides to every story. I was advised during a minor service by a holden dealer that my brakes desperately needed doing and that I shouldn't be driving the car at all! They quoted a ridiculous price to replace them. As usual I declined the offer and took it to my usual brake place - they refused to do them, stating it would be ripping me off, I'd get at least another 50,000 out of them! My brake place got the job and changed them 2 years later than holden wanted to!!

The other side though is the business thing. I used to work as a service technician at a non-dealer chain in W.A a long time ago. Being dodgy was expected and I was trained to do so and threatened with my job if I didn't. Brakes and gearboxes were the most common thing as most people could not check them as they didn't know how (used to just clean the brakes up and slap a coat of blue paint on a gearbox to make it look recon). We very rarely replaced spark plugs, just ran them under the wire brush then invoiced a new set. The biggest thing though was women by themselves, the culture was attrocious, and ranged from replacement engines (though not actually replaced or needed) to emptying the coin tray when giving a courtesy vacuum. It was appalling and I only lasted 1 month before I quit in disgust. No surprise they aren't operating any more. Keep in mind this was 20 years ago and I was a naiive teenager, but I still knew it was wrong.